Home > Home > Media > NR-07-2020

NAV CANADA launches new air traffic control service at YMX International Aerocity of Mirabel

January 30, 2020 – Mirabel – Recognizing that air traffic at YMX International Aerocity of Mirabel was steadily rising, NAV CANADA began an aeronautical study to assess the needs of this growing region in 2017.

NAV CANADA’s mission is to deliver a safe, efficient and cost-effective air navigation service from coast to coast to coast. The company regularly examines the services it offers across the country, responding to changing demands.

The YMX aeronautical study assessed the amount of air traffic and its distribution throughout the day; airport and airspace configuration; and more. As a result, starting January 30, 2020, airport control service will now be offered during peak periods of the day.

Quotes

“With the growth in traffic, expanding the services at YMX International Aerocity of Mirabel ensures we are meeting the needs of our aviation customers and continue to maintain the highest level of safety in our skies,” said Lyne Moreau, General Manager of the Montréal Flight Information Region, NAV CANADA.

“YMX International Aerocity of Mirabel has become a world-renowned aeronautical park, resulting in an increase in air movements for the various partners that have made it their home. The reopening of the control tower illustrates the dynamism and vitality of YMX and demonstrates its strong development potential,” said Stéphane Lapierre, Vice President, Airport Operations and Air Services Development. “This is excellent news, which also sets the stage for the aero-logistics hub project announced last spring to improve and expand logistics activities on the site.”

Quick Facts

  • Effective January 30, 2020 NAV CANADA has expanded its services at the YMX International Aerocity of Mirabel to offer airport control service at certain times of day:
    • Airport control service will be offered for 16 hours a day from 06:00h to 22:00h
    • Airport advisory services will be offered for the remaining 8 hours from 22:00h to 06:00h.
    • Weather observation services will continue to be offered 24 hours a day.
  • A NAV CANADA aeronautical study for YMX showed over 69,000 aircraft movements in 2017 and exceeded 72,000 movements in 2018.
  • Pilots should be prepared for the type of service being offered when they are arriving and departing at YMX, as well as understanding their responsibilities.
    • If a pilot is arriving or departing when airport control services are offered, he or she must follow the directions of the air traffic controllers, and all related procedures.
    • When airport advisory services are offered, pilots must use the information provided by the flight service specialists to make safe and responsible decisions as they arrive and depart the airport.

About NAV CANADA

NAV CANADA is a private, not-for-profit company, established in 1996, providing air traffic control, airport advisory services, weather briefings and aeronautical information services for more than 18 million square kilometres of Canadian domestic and international airspace.

The Company is internationally recognized for its safety record, and technology innovation. Air traffic management systems developed by NAV CANADA are used by air navigation service providers in countries worldwide.

For further information, please contact:

Brian Boudreau
Manager, Media Relations
613-563-7303                            

Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226​​​​

Home > Accueil > Média > NR-07-2020

​NAV CANADA lance des services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne à YMX, l’Aérocité internationale de Mirabel

Mirabel, le 30 janvier 2020 – Étant donné la hausse constante du trafic aérien à YMX, l’Aérocité internationale de Mirabel, NAV CANADA a entamé en 2018 une étude aéronautique afin d’évaluer les besoins de cette région en croissance.

La mission de NAV CANADA consiste à assurer la prestation sécuritaire, efficace et rentable de services de navigation aérienne dans l’ensemble du pays. La Société évalue régulièrement ses services afin de répondre à la demande changeante.

L’étude aéronautique de YMX portait entre autres sur le volume de trafic, sa répartition pendant la journée, ainsi que la configuration de l’aéroport et de l’espace aérien. À la lumière de cette évaluation, un service de contrôle d’aéroport sera désormais offert pendant les périodes de pointe de la journée à compter du 30 janvier 2020.

Citations

« En élargissant les services à YMX, l’Aérocité internationale de Mirabel, nous nous assurons de répondre aux besoins des clients de l’aviation et de maintenir le plus niveau de sécurité possible dans le ciel », a déclaré Lyne Moreau, gestionnaire générale de la région d’information de vol de Montréal, NAV CANADA.

« YMX Aérocité internationale de Mirabel est devenue un parc aéronautique d’envergure et de réputation mondiale, entraînant une augmentation des mouvements aériens des divers partenaires qui y ont élu domicile. La réouverture de la tour de contrôle illustre tout le dynamisme et la vitalité de YMX et témoigne de son fort potentiel de développement, a souligné Stéphane Lapierre vice-président Exploitation et développement aérien d’ADM Aéroports de Montréal.  Il s’agit d’une excellente nouvelle, qui met également la table pour le projet de pôle-aérologistique annoncé au printemps dernier visant l’amélioration et l’expansion des activités logistiques sur le site de YMX».

Faits en bref

  • ​Dès le 30 janvier 2020, NAV CANADA bonifie ses services à YMX, l’Aérocité internationale de Mirabel afin d’offrir un service de contrôle d’aéroport à certaines heures de la journée :
    • Le service de contrôle d’aéroport sera assuré 16 heures par jour, soit de 6 h à 22 h.
    • Le service consultatif d’aéroport sera offert les 8 heures restantes, soit de 22 h à 6 h.
    • Les services d’observations météorologiques continueront d’être offerts 24 heures par jour.
  • Selon une étude aéronautique de NAV CANADA, YMX a enregistré plus de 69 000 mouvements d’aéronefs en 2017 et plus de 75 000 mouvements en 2018.
  • Les pilotes doivent se préparer au type de service qui sera offert à l’atterrissage et au décollage, et s’assurer de bien comprendre leurs responsabilités.
    • Les pilotes qui atterrissent ou décollent lorsque le service de contrôle d’aéroport est offert doivent s’assurer de suivre les instructions des contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne et toutes les procédures connexes.
    • Ils doivent par ailleurs prendre des décisions sécuritaires et responsables au moment de se poser à l’aéroport ou d’en décoller, en s’appuyant sur l’information fournie par les spécialistes de l’information de vol.

À propos de NAV CANADA

NAV CANADA est une société privée sans but lucratif, créée en 1996, qui fournit des services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, des services consultatifs d’aéroport, des exposés météorologiques ainsi que des services d’information aéronautique dans plus de 18 millions de kilomètres carrés d’espace aérien intérieur et d’espace aérien international sous contrôle canadien.

La Société est reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour son dossier de sécurité et ses innovations technologiques. Les systèmes de gestion de la circulation aérienne élaborés par NAV CANADA sont utilisés par des fournisseurs de services de navigation aérienne partout dans le monde.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Brian Boudreau
Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias
613-563-7303                         

Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226​