Home > Home > Media > NR-05-2020

NAV CANADA Rate Change Upheld by Canadian Transportation Agency

January 23, 2020 – Ottawa - NAV CANADA is pleased with the decision issued today by the Canadian Transportation Agency upholding the company’s revised service charges.

The CTA’s decision relates to an appeal by the International Air Transport Association (IATA), filed​​​​​ in September 2019.

As a not for profit, NAV CANADA’s rates may not be set at a level exceeding what is required to meet the cost of providing civil air navigation services. Any profits NAV CANADA generates are re-invested in the air navigation service to ensure that the company continues to provide Canada with the safest, most-efficient and cost-effective air navigation services.

Quick Facts

  • NAV CANADA is a private, not-for-profit company, whose revenue comes primarily from its customers – airlines, air cargo operators, air charter operators, air taxis, helicopter operators, and business and general aviation. NAV CANADA receives no government funding. Revenues are generated through customer service charges, technology sales, and other related commercial activities.
  • NAV CANADA’s service charges had not increased since 2004. Over the last 15 years, the company has in fact reduced its rates four times.
  • The new customer service charges were implemented in two phases:
    • Effective September 1, 2019, NAV CANADA began recovering the cost of domestic space-based surveillance data services, with an average increase of 0.8 per cent on overall rate levels.
    • Effective January 1, 2020, the North Atlantic Enroute charge increased to $155.03 per flight to recover the cost of providing space-based ADS-B surveillance within the North Atlantic oceanic airspace.
  • Space-based Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) provides a full and accurate real time view of every equipped aircraft, using satellite information to extend coverage globally.

Associated Links

Canadian Transportation Agency – Decisions and determinations

NAV CANADA: Space Based ADS-B​

About NAV CANADA

NAV CANADA is a private, not-for-profit company, established in 1996, providing air traffic control, airport advisory services, weather briefings and aeronautical information services for more than 18 million square kilometres of Canadian domestic and international airspace.

The Company is internationally recognized for its safety record, and technology innovation. Air traffic management systems developed by NAV CANADA are used by air navigation service providers in countries worldwide.

For further information, please contact:

Brian Boudreau
Manager, Media Relations
613-563-7303                                    

Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226​​​​

Home > Accueil > Média > NR-05-2020

L’Office des transports du Canada confirme le changement de tarifs de NAV CANADA

23 janvier 2020 – Ottawa - NAV CANADA se réjouit de la décision rendue aujourd’hui par l’Office des transports du Canada (OTC) confirmant les redevances de service révisées de la Société.

La décision de l’OTC concerne un appel de l’Association du transport aérien international (IATA), déposé en septembre 2019.

En tant qu’organisme sans but lucratif, NAV CANADA ne peut fixer ses tarifs à un niveau supérieur à celui qui est nécessaire pour couvrir le coût de la prestation des services de navigation aérienne civile. Tous les profits générés par la Société sont réinvestis dans le système de navigation aérienne, de sorte qu’elle puisse continuer de fournir au Canada les services de navigation aérienne les plus sécuritaires, efficaces et rentables possible.

En bref

  • NAV CANADA est une société privée sans but lucratif qui tire ses revenus principalement de ses clients (transporteurs aériens, exploitants de fret, de vols nolisés et d’hélicoptères, taxis aériens, et aviation générale et d’affaires). Elle ne reçoit aucune subvention gouvernementale, et ses revenus proviennent des redevances d’usage, de la vente de technologies et d’autres activités commerciales connexes.
  • Les redevances de NAV CANADA n’ont pas augmenté depuis 2004. En fait, au cours des 15 dernières années, la Société a réduit ses redevances à quatre reprises.
  • Les nouvelles redevances ont été mises en œuvre en deux phases :
    • ​La première phase, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er septembre 2019, vise le recouvrement des coûts applicables aux services de données de surveillance satellitaire dans l’espace aérien intérieur. Elle représente une hausse moyenne de 0,8 % de l’ensemble des tarifs.
    • Pour recouvrer les coûts applicables à la prestation des services de surveillance ADS-B satellitaire dans l’espace aérien océanique de l’Atlantique Nord, les tarifs ont été établis à 155,03 $ par vol et sont entrés en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020.
  • La surveillance dépendante automatique en mode diffusion (ADS-B) satellitaire fournit une vue complète et précise en temps réel de chaque aéronef doté de l’avionique nécessaire à l’aide de données satellitaires de sorte à étendre la couverture à toute la planète.

Liens connexes

Office des transports du Canada – Décisions et déterminations

NAV CANADA: ADS-B satellitaire

À propos de NAV CANADA

NAV CANADA est une société privée sans but lucratif, créée en 1996, qui fournit des services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, des services consultatifs d’aéroport, des exposés météorologiques ainsi que des services d’information aéronautique dans plus de 18 millions de kilomètres carrés d’espace aérien intérieur et d’espace aérien international sous contrôle canadien.

La Société est reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour son dossier de sécurité et ses innovations technologiques. Les systèmes de gestion de la circulation aérienne élaborés par NAV CANADA sont utilisés par des fournisseurs de services de navigation aérienne partout dans le monde.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Brian Boudreau
Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias
613-563-7303                                    

Ligne d’information pour les médias : 1 888 562-8226​​​