Home > Home > NR-38-2020

​​NAV CANADA launches remote air traffic services trial with Searidge Technologies 

September 14, 2020 – Ottawa – NAV CANADA has commenced a trial to provide Aerodrome Advisory Services (AAS) at Fredericton International Airport (CYFC) remotely from Saint John, New Brunswick (CYSJ) using Searidge Technologies’ Enhanced Airport Vision Display (EAVD). 

The trial, which integrates the EAVD platform into NAV CANADA’s operational display suite, aims to demonstrate how certified video technology can increase levels of safety, efficiency and flexibility in air traffic services and aircraft operations.

Flight Service Specialists will benefit from increased situational awareness with a clear and real-time view of the airfield operating areas and surrounding airspace, which will support service enhancements such as the control of vehicles on the ground.

This remote services trial builds upon past successes with Searidge Technologies, where installations in Red Deer, Kingston, Lethbridge, London, Vancouver and Winnipeg have leveraged camera technologies to enhance operations by providing air traffic services staff with the ability to see beyond line-of-sight obstacles. 

The trial, which is anticipated to run until the fall, has received Transport Canada approval and will assess safety and efficiency benefits of the new service enhancements enabled through aviation-grade video capability.

Quotes

“This made-in-Canada technology has the potential to become an important, adaptive service delivery solution, allowing NAV CANADA to respond cost-effectively and efficiently to changes in demand while enhancing safety through increased situational awareness,” said Ben Girard, Vice President and Chief of Operations.

“Being a Canadian company, we are extremely proud to be supporting NAV CANADA and Transport Canada as they assess the benefits of our Enhanced Airport Vision Display platform for domestic operations. NAV CANADA has been a close partner of ours for many years, this is an excellent demonstration of how, together, we continue to bring innovation to air traffic management,” said Moodie Cheikh, CEO, Searidge Technologies.

“ATSAC looks forward to proving this technology. With it, Flight Service Specialists will have another tool to move the flying public into and out of airports across this Country with added safety. Great collaboration between the 3 entities involved,” said Elizabeth O’Hurley, President, Air Traffic Specialist Association of Canada.

Quick Facts

  • The Transport Canada-approved trial will allow Flight Service Specialist to deliver Aerodrome Advisory Services (AAS) remotely, adding an important layer of situational awareness to existing surveillance displays.
  • Searidge Technologies has deployed this technology at many international locations around the world as part of their digital tower platform, where digitalization provides increased safety and efficiency benefits to airport and air traffic management operations.
  • NAV CANADA’s ATM platform is fully integrated with Searidge technology to provide seamless operations for flight service specialists.
  • Facilities across Canada benefiting by combining digital technology with existing operations include Red Deer, Kingston and Lethbridge FSS, and London, Vancouver Harbour, Vancouver International and Winnipeg Towers.

About NAV CANADA

NAV CANADA is a private, not-for-profit company, established in 1996, providing air traffic control, airport advisory services, weather briefings and aeronautical information services for more than 18 million square kilometres of Canadian domestic and international airspace.

The Company is internationally recognized for its safety record, and technology innovation. Air traffic management systems developed by NAV CANADA are used by air navigation service providers in countries worldwide.

About Searidge Technologies

Searidge develops innovative technology to improve safety and efficiency in the aviation market. With technology at over 35 sites in 25 countries, we are a global leader and preferred partner for Digital Towers and Advanced Airport solutions. Through operational enhancements, collaboration, AI and automation, our team helps our customers proactively transform the way they offer and deliver services to meet changing demands. For more information and to view our video gallery, visit www.searidgetech.com

For further information, please contact:

Brian Boudreau
Manager, Media Relations

media@navcanada.ca​
Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226

 ​

Home > Accueil > NR-38-2020

​​​​NAV CANADA lance un essai de services de la circulation aérienne à distance en collaboration avec Searidge Technologies 

Le 14 septembre 2020 – Ottawa – NAV CANADA a lancé un essai visant à fournir des services consultatifs d’aérodrome (AAS) à distance à l’aéroport international de Fredericton (CYFC) à partir de l’aéroport de Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick (CYSJ), au moyen de l’application Enhanced Airport Vision Display (EAVD) de Searidge Technologies.

L’essai, qui intègre la plateforme EAVD à la plateforme d’affichage opérationnel de NAV CANADA, vise à démontrer comment la technologie vidéo certifiée peut accroître la sécurité, l’efficacité et la flexibilité des services de la circulation aérienne et des opérations aériennes.

Les spécialistes de l’information de vol profiteront d’une meilleure conscience situationnelle et d’une vue claire et en temps réel, des zones d’exploitation de l’aérodrome et de l’espace aérien environnant, ce qui contribuera à l’amélioration des services, comme le contrôle des véhicules au sol.

Cet essai des services à distance s’appuie sur d’autres collaborations réussies avec Searidge Technologies, dans le cadre desquelles des installations à Red Deer, à Kingston, à Lethbridge, à London, à Vancouver et à Winnipeg ont optimisé les avancées technologiques de caméras pour améliorer les opérations en offrant au personnel de contrôle de la circulation aérienne la capacité de voir au-delà des structures faisant obstacle à la visibilité directe. 

L’essai, qui se poursuivra à l’automne, a reçu l’approbation de Transports Canada et permettre d’évaluer les avantages relatifs à la sécurité et à l’efficacité des nouvelles améliorations du service grâce aux capacités vidéo de qualité aviation.

Citations

« Cette technologie canadienne a le potentiel de devenir une méthode importante et adaptive de prestation des services qui permettra à NAV CANADA de réagir de manière rentable et efficace aux changements à la demande tout en améliorant la sécurité grâce à une conscience situationnelle accrue », a déclaré Ben Girard, vice-président et chef de la direction de l’exploitation.

« En tant qu’entreprise canadienne, nous sommes extrêmement fiers d’appuyer NAV CANADA et Transports Canada pendant l’évaluation des avantages de notre plateforme Enhanced Airport Vision Display pour les opérations nationales. NAV CANADA est un de nos proches partenaires depuis plusieurs années et cet essai est une excellente représentation de comment nous continuons ensemble à innover dans le domaine de la gestion de la circulation aérienne », a déclaré Moodie Cheikh, directeur général, Searidge Technologies.

« L’ASCAC a hâte de démontrer l’efficacité de cette technologie. Grâce à elle, les spécialistes de l’information de vol disposeront d’un autre outil pour diriger le public voyageur en partance et à destination des aéroports du pays en toute sécurité. C’est une excellente collaboration entre les trois organisations concernées », affirme Elizabeth O’Hurley, présidente, Association des spécialistes de la circulation aérienne du Canada.

En bref

  • L’essai approuvé par Transports Canada permettra aux spécialistes de l’information de vol d’offrir des services consultatifs d’aérodrome à distance, augmentant ainsi de manière significative la conscience situationnelle en combinaison aux autres affichages de surveillance.
  • Searidge Technologies a déployé cette technologie à de nombreux endroits partout dans le monde dans le cadre de sa plateforme de tour numérique, où la numérisation offre une sécurité et une efficacité accrues aux opérations des aéroports et de gestion de la circulation aérienne.
  • La plateforme ATM de NAV CANADA est entièrement intégrée à la technologie de Searidge afin d’assurer le bon déroulement des opérations des spécialistes de l’information de vol.
  • Les FSS de Red Deer, de Kingston et de Lethbridge, ainsi que les tours de London, de Vancouver Harbour, de l’aéroport international de Vancouver et de Winnipeg, font partie des aménagements canadiens profitant de la combinaison de la technologie numérique et des opérations existantes.

À propos de NAV CANADA

NAV CANADA est une société privée sans but lucratif, créée en 1996, qui fournit des services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, des services consultatifs d’aéroport, des exposés météorologiques ainsi que des services d’information aéronautique dans plus de 18 millions de kilomètres carrés d’espace aérien intérieur et d’espace aérien international sous contrôle canadien.

La Société est reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour son dossier de sécurité et ses innovations technologiques. Les systèmes de gestion de la circulation aérienne élaborés par NAV CANADA sont utilisés par des fournisseurs de services de navigation aérienne partout dans le monde.

À propos de Searidge Technologies

Searidge élabore des technologies novatrices visant l’amélioration de la sécurité et de l’efficacité dans le domaine de l’aviation. Ayant déployé sa technologie dans plus de 35 emplacements situés dans 25 pays, elle est un leader international et un partenaire de choix en ce qui concerne les solutions de pointe pour les aéroports et les tours numériques. Grâce aux améliorations opérationnelles, à la collaboration, à l’intelligence artificielle et à l’automatisation, son équipe aide ses clients à être proactifs dans la transformation de la façon dont ils offrent des services pour répondre à la demande changeante. Pour plus d’information et visionner des vidéos, consultez son site Web, à www.searidgetech.com.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Brian Boudreau
Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias

media@navcanada.ca​
Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226​