Home > Home > Products and Services > Level of Service

Level of Service

NAV CANADA provides safe, efficient and cost-effective air navigation services. The Company regularly evaluates its services and determines how best to meet changing industry needs while maintaining a high level of safety and a consistent level of service across Canada.

NAV CANADA’s Level of Service Policy describes the requirements for the provision of air navigation services in Canada and in international airspace assigned to Canadian control. Periodic internal reviews examine operational and safety issues and customer needs to determine whether a formal change proposal is required. An Aeronautical Study is initiated when an internal review indicates that a change in the level of service may be appropriate.

Aeronautical Studies

Aeronautical Studies evaluate changes to the Air Navigation System (ANS) including the following:

  • changes to air traffic services
  • changes to airspace classification and design, and
  • the introduction or termination of a service.

Aeronautical Studies consider all relevant factors. These include traffic volume, mix and distribution throughout the day; weather; airport role; airport and airspace configuration; surface activity; and the efficiency requirements of operators using the service. Formal consultation with stakeholders is central to all Aeronautical Studies.

Home > Accueil > Produits et services > Niveaux de service

Niveaux de service

NAV CANADA fournit des services de navigation aérienne sécuritaires, efficaces et rentables. La Société évalue régulièrement ses services afin d’établir la meilleure façon de s’adapter à l’évolution des besoins de l'industrie de l’aviation tout en assurant un niveau de sécurité élevé et en offrant un niveau de service uniforme à la grandeur du Canada.

La Politique en matière de niveaux de service de NAV CANADA décrit les exigences de prestation de services de navigation aérienne au Canada et dans l'espace aérien international sous la responsabilité du Canada. NAV CANADA effectue périodiquement des examens internes de ses opérations, des enjeux en matière de sécurité et des besoins des clients afin de déterminer si une proposition officielle de changement s’impose. Si, par suite d'un examen interne, il s'avère qu'un changement des niveaux de service pourrait être approprié, une étude aéronautique est amorcée.

Les études aéronautiques

Les études aéronautiques permettent d’évaluer les changements apportés au système de navigation aérienne, dont :

  • les changements des services de la circulation aérienne;
  • les changements de la classification et de la conception de l’espace aérien;
  • l’introduction et la cessation de services.

Les études aéronautiques tiennent compte de plusieurs facteurs, dont le volume, la composition et la répartition du trafic, les conditions météorologiques, le rôle et l’aménagement des aéroports, la configuration de l’espace aérien, l’activité de surface et les exigences des utilisateurs en matière d’efficacité. Des consultations officielles avec les parties intéressées constituent une partie intégrante de toutes les études aéronautiques.