Important Legal Notice

HomeHomeCareersBenefitsImportant Legal Notice

Important Legal Notice


Benefits Online outlines and highlights general provisions and coverage under NAV CANADA Benefit Plans.
 
This information is as accurate and reliable as possible. There is no guarantee, however, that it is complete or current at all times.
  • Final interpretation is governed by the terms of official contracts. In case of conflict between the content of this booklet and the relevant contract, the contract will prevail.
  • Eligibility criteria and/or plans, programs, practices, and processes may be changed or terminated anytime without notice to participants.
This booklet does not constitute a contract of employment between you and NAV CANADA, or an obligation by NAV CANADA to maintain any particular benefit program, practice, or policy. NAV CANADA is not responsible for decisions you make based on this information.
 
NAV CANADA collects, uses and discloses personal information and personal health information (Information) about you and your dependents to arrange for the benefits described in Benefits Online. Service, insurance, and benefit providers, consultants, plan administrators, and auditors may change from time to time and receive your personal information, as required.
 
Protecting your privacy is important to NAV CANADA. NAV CANADA and its service and insurance providers who have job-related need to do so, collect, use, disclose, and share personal information. This Information may be used for the purpose of:
  • assessing eligibility,
  • providing benefits coverage to you and your dependents,
  • managing and administering the plans described,
  • determining which service and insurance providers to retain, and
  • determining and maintaining appropriate financial terms.
Privacy policies for our insurance providers can be found at the following websites:
Access to your Information is limited to people who need to see it to achieve these purposes, or any other person whom you authorize in writing. NAV CANADA agrees to protect and maintain the confidentiality of your information through appropriate security measures and safeguards. NAV CANADA ensures all such parties enter into confidentiality agreements to protect and appropriately safeguard your information.
 
You are entitled to review your information and, if appropriate, have it corrected. To do so, submit a written request to benefits@navcanada.ca, pensions@navcanada.ca or payrollops@navcanada.ca.
 
For questions on premium deductions, eligibility and coverage dates, application procedures, or claims procedures, contact your Payroll or Pension Advisor.
 
You have the right, upon request, to obtain a copy of the policies, your application and any written statements or other records you have provided to Sun Life as evidence of insurability, subject to certain limitations.
 
Every action or proceeding against an insurer for the recovery of insurance money payable under the benefits contract is absolutely barred unless commenced within the time set out in the Insurance Act or other applicable legislation (e.g. Limitations Act, 2002 in Ontario, Quebec Civil Code).
 
You have the right to appeal a denial of all or part of the insurance or benefits described in the Basic Life, Management Insurance Plan, Long-Term Disability and Critical Illness contracts as long as you do so within one year of the initial denial of the insurance or a benefit.  An appeal must be in writing and must include your reasons for believing the denial to be incorrect.
 
If benefits are paid that were not payable under the Basic Life, Management Insurance Plan, Long-Term Disability or Critical Illness policy, you are responsible for repayment within 30 days of Sun Life sending you a notice of the overpayment, or within a longer period if agreed to in writing by Sun Life.  If you fail to fulfil this responsibility, no further benefits are payable under the policy until the overpayment is recovered.  This does not limit Sun Life’s right to use other legal means to recover the overpayment.
 
Published on February 01, 2016

Avis juridiques importants

HomeAccueilCarrièresAvantages SociauxAvis juridiques importants

Avis juridiques importants


Avantages sociaux en ligne décrit les dispositions générales et les protections offertes au titre des régimes d’avantages sociaux de NAV CANADA.
 
Cette information est la plus exacte et fiable possible. Nous ne pouvons toutefois garantir qu’elle est en tout temps exhaustive et à jour.
  • L’interprétation finale est régie par les dispositions des contrats officiels. En cas de divergence entre le contenu du présent document et le contrat pertinent, le libellé du contrat prévaudra.
  • Les critères d’admissibilité et/ou les régimes, programmes, pratiques et processus peuvent être modifiés ou supprimés sans préavis aux participants.
Le présent document ne constitue pas un contrat d’emploi entre vous et NAV CANADA, ni une obligation pour NAV CANADA de maintenir en vigueur tout programme, pratique ou politique. NAV CANADA n’est pas responsable des décisions que vous prenez en fonction de ces renseignements.
 
NAV CANADA recueille, utilise et communique les renseignements personnels et médicaux sur vous et sur les personnes à votre charge pour fournir les protections décrites dans Avantages sociaux en ligne. Les fournisseurs de services, d’assurance, de soins, les administrateurs du régime et les vérificateurs peuvent changer et recevoir vos renseignements personnels au besoin.
 
La protection de vos renseignements personnels est importante pour NAV CANADA. NAV CANADA et ses fournisseurs de services et d’assurance qui ont besoin de le faire dans le cadre de leurs activités recueillent, utilisent et communiquent les renseignements personnels. Ces renseignements peuvent être utilisés pour :
  • déterminer l’admissibilité;
  • fournir une protection à vous et aux personnes à votre charge;
  • gérer et administrer les régimes décrits;
  • déterminer les fournisseurs de services et d’assurance à utiliser; et
  • déterminer et tenir à jour les conditions financières appropriées.
Les politiques de protection des renseignements personnels de nos fournisseurs d’assurance sont disponibles dans les sites Web suivants :
L’accès à vos renseignements personnels est limité aux personnes qui ont besoin de ces renseignements aux fins susmentionnées ou à toute autre personne à laquelle vous autorisez l’accès par écrit. NAV CANADA accepte de protéger et de maintenir la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels au moyen de mesures de sécurité et de protection appropriées. NAV CANADA veille à ce que ces parties signent des ententes de confidentialité afin de protéger adéquatement vos renseignements personnels.
 
Vous pouvez consulter vos renseignements personnels et les modifier au besoin. Pour ce faire, vous devez présenter une demande par écrit à l’adresse pensions@navcanada.ca, benefits@navcanada.ca ou payrollops@navcanada.ca.
 
Si vous avez des questions au sujet des dates de déduction des primes, d’admissibilité et de protection, des procédures d’inscription ou de demande de règlement, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller, Paye ou conseiller en Pensions.
 
Vous pouvez, sur demande, obtenir une copie des politiques, de votre demande ainsi que de toute déclaration écrite ou de tous les autres dossiers que vous avez fournis à la Sun Life comme preuve d’assurabilité, sous réserve de certaines restrictions.
 
Toute action ou procédure intentée contre un assureur en vue de récupérer une prestation versée au titre d’un contrat de prestations est absolument interdite, sauf si celle-ci a été intentée dans le délai prescrit dans la Loi sur les assurances ou les autres lois applicables (p. ex. Loi sur la prescription des actions, 2002 en Ontario, Code civil du Québec).
 
Vous pouvez interjeter appel d’un refus, en tout ou en partie, verser des prestations ou consentir une assurance selon les descriptions qui en sont faites dans les contrats de l’Assurance-vie de base, du Régime d’assurance des cadres de gestion et de l’Assurance-invalidité de longue durée contre les maladies graves pendant une période d’un an à compter du refus initial d’une prime d’assurance ou d’une prestation. Un appel doit être présenté par écrit et comprendre les motifs qui expliquent que le refus n’est pas justifié.
 
Si des prestations sont versées mais qu’elles n’étaient pas payables au titre de l’Assurance-vie de base, du Régime d’assurance des cadres de gestion, de l’Assurance-invalidité de longue durée et de la politique d’assurance contre les maladies graves, vous devez vous faire rembourser ledit montant auprès de la Sun Life dans un délai de 30 jours suivant l’envoi de l’avis de paiements en trop, ou dans un délai plus important si la Sun Life y ont consenti par écrit. Si vous ne vous acquittez pas de cette responsabilité, aucune prestation ne vous sera versée au titre de cette politique tant que les paiements en trop n’auront pas été récupérés. Cette mesure ne limite pas le droit conféré à la Sun Life d’avoir recours à d’autres moyens juridiques pour recouvrer les paiements en trop.
 
 
Publié le 23 juillet 2015