Home > Home > Products and Services > RPAS

Flying your Remotely Piloted Aircraft (RPA) in Canadian Airspace

As of June 1, 2019, new Transport Canada regulations apply to all remotely piloted aircraft (RPA) operating in Canadian airspace. Owners of RPAs (also known as drones or UAVs) must follow the requirements for operating their RPA in each class of Canadian airspace. 

What you need to know

Airspace in Canada is classified as controlled or uncontrolled.​ If you plan to operate in uncontrolled airspace (Class G), you will need a Transport Canada Pilot Certificate – Basic Operations. NAV CANADA does not  provide authorization​ for RPA flights in uncontrolled airspace.

If you plan to operate your RPA in controlled airspace (Classes C, D or E) you must have a Transport Canada Pilot Certificate – Advanced Operations and you must obtain a written RPAS Flight Authorization from NAV CANADA, by submitting an RPAS Flight Authorization Request.

In addition, all RPA pilots must comply with all applicable legislation, including Canadian Aviation Regulations. For more information, see Transport Canada's Drone Safety page​.

Submitting an RPAS Flight Authorization Request

To submit an RPAS Flight Authorization Request, follow these steps: 

  1. Determine the flight information region for your RPA flight. You will need this information for the authorization form. 
  2. Complete and submit the online RPAS​ Flight Authorization Request​. ​See the FAQ page for answers to some common questions. Note: Earlier technical issues experienced by certain users of the online form have been resolved. If you experience any difficulties submitting a request, please contact NAV CANADA Customer and Stakeholder Services​.​

  3. Once submitted, a reference number will be issued and used in any future correspondence relating to this request. The request will be sent to the appropriate NAV CANADA regional RPAS office for review. 
  4. Please note that processing time will depend on the complexity of your request.​ You cannot operate your RPA in controlled airspace unless you receive a written RPAS Flight Authorization from NAV CANADA.​ Failure to comply with legal requirements when flying an RPA, including failure to obtain an RPAS Flight Authorization from NAV CANADA before flying an RPA in controlled airspace, can give rise to serious penalties, including fines and jail time.
  5. Please ensure that you have proof of your RPAS Flight Authorization on hand at all times when flying your RPA.​
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Advanced Operations Pilot Certificate and Licensing Course – Cornwall, ON

NAV CANADA, Carleton U​niversity’s Faculty of Engineering and Design and Ottawa Aviation Services are pleased to jointly offer an RPAS Advanced Pilot Certificate and Licensing ​course. This course is delivered at the NAV CENTRE in Cornwall, Ontario.

Course participants will be presented with a Certificate of Completion. The Transport Canada online exam, practical flight and radio license assessment are included in the program.

Click here​ for more information and upcoming course dates.

​​​​​​

Home > Accueil > Produits et services > SATP

​​Utilisation d’aéronefs télépilotés dans l’espace aérien canadien

À compter du 1er juin 2019, les nouvelles règles de Transports Canada s’appliqueront à tous les aéronefs télépilotés (ATP) utilisés dans l’espace aérien canadien. Les propriétaires d'ATP (communément appelés drones ou UAV) doivent respecter les exigences liées à l’exploitation d’un ATP propres à chaque classe d’espace aérien au Canada. 

Ce que vous devez savoir

Au Canada, le ciel est classé en espace aérien contrôlé ou non contrôlé. Ainsi, si vous prévoyez d’exploiter un ATP dans l’espace aérien non contrôlé (classe G), vous devez être titulaire d’un certificat de pilote – opérations de base, délivré par Transports Canada. En effet, l’autorisation de vols d’ATP dans l’espace aérien non contrôlé n’est pas du ressort de NAV CANADA.

Si, en revanche, vous envisagez d’utiliser un ATP dans l’espace aérien contrôlé (classes C, D ou E), vous devez être titulaire d’un certificat de pilote – opérations avancées, délivré par Transports Canada, et devez présenter une demande d’autorisation de vol de système d’aéronef télépiloté (SATP) auprès de NAV CANADA.

Par ailleurs, tous les pilotes d’ATP doivent se conformer à la législation applicable, en particulier au Règlement de l’aviation canadien. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page « Sécurité des drones » de Transports Canada. 

Comment présenter une demande d’autorisation de vol SATP?

Voici la marche à suivre :

  1. Déterminez dans quelle région d’information de vol​ aura lieu votre vol d’ATP. Ce renseignement est nécessaire pour remplir le formulaire. 
  2. Présentez une demande d’autorisation de vol SATP​​​ dûment remplie, en ligne. Consulter la foire aux questions​ pour trouver des réponses à certaines questions fréquentes.​ Nota : À l’heure actuelle, le formulaire en ligne n’est pas pris en charge par Firefox ou Safari. Veuillez utiliser un autre navigateur pour présenter votre demande d’autorisation de vol SATP.
  3. Une fois votre demande présentée, vous recevrez un numéro de référence, qui figurera sur toute correspondance future en lien avec cette demande. Celle-ci sera transmise au bureau régional de coordination des SATP de NAV CANADA qui correspond à votre région, à des fins d’examen. 
  4. Veuillez prendre note que le délai de traitement dépendra de la complexité de votre demande.​​ Il est interdit d’exploiter un ATP dans l’espace aérien contrôlé sans autorisation de vol SATP écrite, délivrée par NAV CANADA. Le non-respect des exigences juridiques lors de l’utilisation d’un ATP, y compris l’omission d’obtenir une autorisation de vol ​​SATP écrite auprès de NAV CANADA avant d’utiliser un ATP dans l’espace aérien contrôlé, peut entraîner des peines sévères, notamment des amendes et l’emprisonnement.​
  5. Vous devez avoir en votre possession une preuve de votre autorisation de vol SATP en tout temps lorsque vous utilisez votre ATP.​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Cours de certification et de permis de pilotage avancé – Cornwall (Ontario)

NAV CANADA, la Faculté de génie et de conception de l’Université Carleton et Ottawa Aviation Services sont heureux d’offrir conjointement un cours de certification en pilotage avancé de système d’aéronef télépiloté (SATP) au CENTRE NAV à Cornwall, en Ontario.

Les participants recevront un certificat de réussite. L’examen en ligne de Transports Canada, le test pratique de vol et l’évaluation pour le certificat de radiotéléphoniste sont compris dans le programme.

Pour obtenir de plus amples détails ainsi que le calendrier des cours, veuillez cliquer ici​.

Nota : Ce cours n’est actuellement offert qu’en anglais. 


​​ ​​​​​