Home > Home > Media > NR 33 2015

NAV CANADA announces major infrastructure renewal project to modernize radar systems

(Ottawa, December 10, 2015) – NAV CANADA announced a multi-year project to upgrade Terminal Surveillance Radar (TSR) at 12 sites. The project will be phased in starting with five major airports with work underway at Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Montreal and Hamilton. The total investment for this infrastructure renewal project will be more than $125 million.

“These radar systems are over 30 years old and are nearing the end of their lifecycle,” said Kim Troutman, Vice President, Engineering. “Radar is one of the key surveillance sources for air traffic control and will continue to be an indispensable tool for the mid and long-term in its existing role and as a complement to satellite-based ADS-B surveillance.

NAV CANADA operates 46 radar sites across the country which provide air traffic surveillance utilized by Air Traffic Controllers and Flight Service Specialists.

“Due to the age of the systems, various electronic components are becoming obsolete and parts are sometimes difficult to replace,” noted Troutman. “This upgrade program  will replace key electronic equipment while maintaining the radar site infrastructure in place.  Each radar upgrade will improve reliability, advance the exchange of data, lower maintenance costs and mitigate potential service outages.”

A competitive Request for Proposal was issued and following a lengthy review and evaluation process NAV CANADA chose Selex ES, a subsidiary of Finmeccanica, as the supplier.  Finmeccanica – Selex ES has delivered air traffic control radar systems to more than 150 countries over the last 60 years.

About NAV CANADA

NAV CANADA is the country’s private sector civil air navigation services provider. With operations from coast to coast to coast, NAV CANADA provides air traffic control, flight information, weather briefings, aeronautical information services, airport advisory services and electronic aids to navigation.

About Finmeccanica - Selex ES

Finmeccanica - Selex ES is a major international player in the provision of large-scale, complex solutions for Air Traffic Management (ATM) systems. Over the past half century, the company has delivered more than a thousand primary and secondary radar channels in more than 150 countries, providing air traffic controllers with innovative, proprietary surveillance technology solutions based on efficiency, safety, performance, and environmental sustainability. 

For further information, please contact:
 
Michelle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520
 
Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations
(613) 563-7303
 
Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226

Home > Accueil > Média > NR 33 2015

NAV CANADA annonce un projet majeur de renouvellement d’infrastructure visant à moderniser les systèmes radar

 

(Ottawa, le 10 décembre 2015) – NAV CANADA a annoncé un projet pluriannuel visant à mettre à niveau le radar de surveillance terminal (TSR) à 12 emplacements. Ce projet sera exécuté en phases en commençant par cinq grands aéroports du pays, les travaux étant entamés à Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Montréal et Hamilton. L’investissement total pour ce projet de renouvellement d’infrastructure s’élèvera à plus de 125 millions de dollars.

« Ces systèmes radar sont âgés de plus de 30 ans et approchent la fin de leur cycle de vie », a déclaré Kim Troutman, vice-président, Ingénierie. « Le radar est l’une des principales sources de surveillance utilisées pour le contrôle de la circulation aérienne et demeurera un outil indispensable à moyen et long termes dans son utilisation actuelle ainsi qu’en complément à la surveillance ADS-B satellitaire. »

NAV CANADA exploite 46 emplacements radar au pays pour la surveillance de la circulation aérienne par les contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne et les spécialistes de l’information de vol.

« En raison de l’âge avancé de ces systèmes, leurs divers composants électroniques sont en voie de devenir désuets et les pièces sont souvent difficiles à remplacer », a précisé M. Troutman. « Ce programme de mise à niveau remplacera l’équipement électronique clé tout en maintenant en place l’infrastructure des emplacements radar. Chaque mise à niveau de radar améliorera la fiabilité, rehaussera l’échange de données, réduira les coûts de maintenance et atténuera les risques de pannes de service. »

Un processus concurrentiel de demande de proposition a été lancé et à la suite d’une évaluation et d’un examen approfondis, NAV CANADA a retenu Selex ES, une filiale de la firme Finmeccanica, comme fournisseur pour ce projet. Finmeccanica – Selex ES fournit des systèmes radar pour le contrôle de la circulation à plus de 150 pays depuis les 60 dernières années.

À propos de NAV CANADA

Exploitant national du système de navigation aérienne civile, NAV CANADA est une société du secteur privé qui assure à la grandeur du pays les services suivants : contrôle de la circulation aérienne, information de vol, exposés météorologiques, services d’information aéronautique, services consultatifs d’aéroport et aides électroniques à la navigation.

À propos de Finmeccanica - Selex ES

Finmeccanica - Selex ES est un acteur international majeur dans la prestation de solutions complexes et à grande échelle pour des systèmes de gestion de la circulation aérienne (ATM). Depuis le dernier demi-siècle, Finmeccanica - Selex ES a livré plus de 1000 canaux de radar primaire et secondaire dans plus de 150 pays et a fourni au contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne des solutions technologiques novatrices et exclusives fondées sur l’efficacité, la sécurité, la performance et la viabilité environnementale.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :
 
Michelle Bishop
Directrice, Relations gouvernementales et affaires publiques
(613) 563-7520
 
Ron Singer
Gestionnaire national, Relations avec les médias
(613) 563-7303
 
Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226