Home > Home > Media > NR 27 2015

NAV CANADA garners multiple awards at international conference

(Ottawa, November 10, 2015) – NAV CANADA is proud to announce that several employees have been duly recognized for their outstanding accomplishments by the Washington D.C. based Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA). The awards were presented during the 60th Annual ATCA Conference and Exposition held in National Harbor, Maryland from November 2-4.

“To see our people honoured by a distinguished international association is a source of pride for NAV CANADA,” said John Crichton, President and CEO. “Their achievements exemplify the dedication and commitment that has significantly contributed to NAV CANADA’s excellent record for safety and efficiency.”

Among the NAV CANADA award recipients was Sid Koslow, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, winner of the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, ATCA’s most prestigious honour. The trophy was presented to Koslow at the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Banquet on the evening of November 4. (See news release announcing the award.)

The other ATCA awards were presented on November 2 at the Conference & Exposition’s Awards Luncheon. The following employees accepted the awards referenced below (Biographies are attached):

Anne Breen: The Andy Pitas Memorial Award

This Medallion Award is presented to an individual or group who provided flight assistance in the previous year that resulted in the safe recovery of an emergency aircraft through the application of exceptional air traffic service.

Maureen Stevens: ATCA Air Traffic Control Specialist of the Year (Flight Service Specialty)

The award presented to an individual civilian air traffic control specialist who has during the previous year performed in an exemplary or extraordinary manner in support of ATC.

Du Jin Moon: ATCA Airway Transportation Systems Specialist of the Year Award

Award presented to an individual military or civilian airway facilities technician acting in a non-supervisory capacity who has, during the previous year, performed in an exemplary or extraordinary manner in support of ATC.

François Bisaillon: ATCA Life Cycle Management Award

The award recognizes the individual(s) or group whose design, development, deployment, maintenance or logistical support had a significant positive impact on the performance or operation of an important ATC system in the previous year.

NAV CANADA also received the Chairman’s‎ Citation of Merit Award, for Light the Way, the Company’s mental health peer-support program for employees with personal or family mental health issues. NAV CANADA was one of the first private-sector companies in Canada to implement a mental health peer-support program in 2012. During the two years following its launch, “Light the Way” has grown and its “no stigma” message and supportive philosophy became a part of NAV CANADA’s culture.

In February 2015, the program was recognized by the Canadian Mental Health Association, which awarded NAV CANADA its C.M. Hincks Award. (See news release.)

Peer support team members accepting the award were Chris Cassey, Pierre Gaumond, Paul Lutman, Dennis Mitchell, and Lyne Wilson.

NAV CANADA is the country’s private sector civil air navigation services provider. With operations from coast to coast to coast, NAV CANADA provides air traffic control, flight information, weather briefings, aeronautical information services, airport advisory services and electronic aids to navigation.


Anne Breen, Air Traffic Controller, Vancouver Area Control Centre

A highly respected air traffic controller at the Vancouver ACC, Anne calmly and professionally assisted a pilot flying with an engine out and in danger of losing control of his aircraft. In the judgment of her peers, Anne was responsible for the aircraft’s safe landing while continuing to assist other flights in her area of responsibility.

On December 19, 2014, Island Express Air Flight 405, a twin-engine Piper Navajo, had departed Nanaimo Airport (CYCD) in poor weather for Abbotsford, British Columbia. Shortly after departure, the pilot reported his right engine out and requested a return to Nanaimo.

With a low ceiling, the pilot required radar vectors for an ILS approach. Anne and her colleagues in the Victoria Terminal Specialty realized the pilot was having extreme difficulty maintaining the assigned altitude and heading. He was flying towards higher terrain, at one point dropping below the minimum vectoring altitude. Drawing on her experience as a pilot and an air traffic controller, Anne helped the pilot remain calm and in control of the aircraft.

Anne’s colleagues are unanimous in crediting her “calm, professional reaction and timely instructions” for helping the pilot steer the aircraft away from surrounding hills. As her supervisor said, “I was standing by Anne that day, watching the radar screen in disbelief. The pilot could not maintain either altitude or course, was obviously struggling to keep the aircraft flying, and was definitely headed towards higher terrain.”

Another colleague who was present said: “Anne calmly and professionally helped the pilot land safely in Nanaimo after experiencing an engine failure. She handled everything so well, I’m sure that it helped avoid a much worse outcome.”

Maureen Stevens, Flight Service Specialist, Îles-de-la-Madeleine Flight Service Station

Îles-de-la-Madeleine Airport (CYGR) is located on one of the Magdalen Islands, in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The Flight Service Station (FSS) provides services to general aviation using the airport, and maintains the Remote Aerodrome Advisory Service (RAAS) in Natashquan and Havre‑Saint-Pierre, both located on the north shore of the St. Lawrence.

When two winter storms struck Eastern Canada in close succession in 2015, Flight Service Specialist Maureen Stevens went well beyond the call of duty to keep these services operational. She prepared for the storms by bringing personal belongings and enough food to last several days to the station. Faced with extreme winds gusting up to 75 mph and 14 inches of snow, Maureen stayed at the FSS for almost 48 hours, working 18 consecutive hours at a position and sleeping two nights at the airport because the roads were closed.

Maureen kept the FSS and the RAAS open until their regular closing time, and also opened them the next day. By keeping the station open, Maureen ensured the island’s residents had access to emergency air ambulance services, which do not fly to Îles-de-la-Madeleine in emergency conditions unless a Specialist is on duty at the station. Her actions also allowed her colleagues to stay home with their families and not risk travelling to the station. As a result of her commitment to safety, NAV CANADA operations at Îles-de-la-Madeleine were “Ops Normal” throughout both storms.

Du Jin Moon, CNS Team Supervisor, Vancouver Tower

On the morning of November 26, 2014, the Automated Weather Observation System (AWOS) at Prince George Airport (CYXS) in British Columbia failed, leaving air traffic controllers and pilots without critical weather information. The airport was forced to close, leading to the cancellation of 35 flights and leaving 900 travelers stranded.

The technologists who maintain NAV CANADA’s equipment at CYXS are based in Vancouver and normally fly to Prince George to maintain and repair equipment. With the airport closed, this was not an option. At the time the AWOS failed, Du Jin Moon, the Vancouver CNS Supervisor, was performing maintenance at Fort Nelson Airport (CYYE), about 500 miles north of Prince George. Rather than assigning the job to one of his staff, he chose to do the work himself.

He was able to book a flight to Prince George, but the flight was diverted to Fort St. John, B.C., some 270 miles short of Prince George. At that point, knowing how important it was to restore the AWOS, Du Jin decided to drive from Fort St. John to Prince George.

He started at 3:00 p.m. in a snowstorm, which continued as he made his way through the mountains, at times without cellphone coverage. He arrived in Prince George at around midnight and began repairs. Working through the night, he brought the AWOS back online at 6:00 a.m. on November 27, enabling the airport to re-open to scheduled flights.

Without Du Jin’s extraordinary dedication, commitment and 24 straight hours of effort, this outage would have been longer and would have had much greater impact on the airport, the airlines and the flying public they serve.

François Bisaillon, Data Systems Coordinator, Montreal Area Control Centre

François Bisaillon has been one of the driving forces behind the design, development and deployment of a software data adaptation for NAV CANADA’s Extended Computer Display System (EXCDS), or electronic flight strips. This adaptation enables air traffic controllers and flight service specialists to perform all required coordination procedures electronically.

In February 2014, François oversaw implementation of the EXCDS adaptation in the Montreal ACC’s East Low Specialty. The Montreal ACC is the first within NAV CANADA to use electronic transmissions for all exchanges of operational data between enroute, terminal, towers and flight service stations. The adaptation has been so successful at the Montreal ACC that it will be implemented at all of NAV CANADA’s ACCs.

Exchanging information exclusively via electronic data increases safety in many ways. It greatly reduces the risk of errors in exchanges between controllers, since they all use the same data. It minimizes the time spent on exchanges, allowing operational staff to focus on their main task and reducing potential distractions. And, because information presented to the controller is adjusted based on the operational context, controllers can process information more quickly and spend more time on planning and control duties.

Other benefits include eliminating inefficient paper-based tasks and voice transmissions for relaying clearances and instructions to pilots, and increased speed and tactical response during traffic surges.

For further information, please contact:

Michelle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520
Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations
(613) 563-7303
Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226

Home > Accueil > Média > NR 27 2015

NAV CANADA remporte plusieurs prix lors d’une conférence internationale

(Ottawa, le 10 novembre 2015) – NAV CANADA est fière d’annoncer que plusieurs de ses employés ont été dûment reconnus pour leurs réalisations exceptionnelles par l’Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) de Washington D.C., aux États-Unis. Des prix leur ont été présentés dans le cadre de la 60e conférence et exposition annuelle de l’ATCA, qui a eu lieu à National Harbor, au Maryland, du 2 au 4 novembre.

« La reconnaissance de nos employés par une prestigieuse association internationale est une source de fierté pour NAV CANADA », de dire John Crichton, président et chef de la direction. « Leurs réalisations témoignent du dévouement et de l’engagement qui ont contribué de manière importante à l’excellente réputation de NAV CANADA en matière de sécurité et d’efficacité. »

Parmi les lauréats de NAV CANADA, notons Sid Koslow, vice-président et chef de la direction des technologies, récipiendaire du prix commémoratif Glen A. Gilbert, l’honneur le plus prestigieux de l’ATCA. Le trophée a été présenté à M. Koslow lors du banquet de remise du prix commémoratif Glen A. Gilbert le soir du 4 novembre. (Consulter le communiqué annonçant le prix.)

Les autres prix de l’ATCA ont été remis le 2 novembre lors du dîner de remise des prix organisé dans le cadre de la conférence et exposition. Les employés suivants ont accepté les prix indiqués (les biographies sont ci-jointes) :

Anne Breen : Prix commémoratif Andy Pitas

Médaille décernée à une personne ou à un groupe qui, au cours de l’année précédente, a aidé un aéronef en état d’urgence à se rétablir de façon sécuritaire grâce à la prestation de services de la circulation aérienne exceptionnels.

Maureen Stevens : Prix du spécialiste en contrôle de la circulation aérienne de l’année (spécialiste de l’information de vol)

Prix décerné à un spécialiste civil du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qui a offert, au cours de l’année précédente, un service exemplaire ou extraordinaire à l’appui du contrôle de la circulation aérienne.

Du Jin Moon : Prix du spécialiste des systèmes de transport aérien de l’année

Prix décerné à un technicien militaire ou civil des aménagements de transport aérien n’occupant pas des fonctions de surveillance qui a offert, au cours de l’année précédente, un service exemplaire ou extraordinaire à l’appui du contrôle de la circulation aérienne.

François Bisaillon : Prix de gestion du cycle de vie

Prix qui rend hommage à une personne ou à un groupe dont le soutien exemplaire en matière de conception, de développement, de déploiement, d’entretien ou de logistique a eu, au cours de l’année précédente, une grande incidence positive sur le rendement ou les activités d’un important système ATC.

NAV CANADA s’est également vu décerner la Citation du mérite du président de l’ATCA pour son programme de soutien par les pairs en santé mentale, Pour éclairer votre chemin, qui s’adresse aux employés aux prises avec un problème de santé mentale ou celui d’un proche. En 2012, NAV CANADA était l’une des premières entreprises du secteur privé au Canada à mettre en œuvre un programme de soutien par les pairs en santé mentale. Au cours des deux années suivant son lancement, le programme Pour éclairer votre chemin a pris de l’ampleur. Son message « aucun stigmate » et sa philosophie de soutien sont devenus partie intégrante de la culture de NAV CANADA.

En février 2015, l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale a reconnu le programme et a décerné à NAV CANADA son prix C.M. Hincks. (Consulter le communiqué de presse.)

Les membres de l’équipe de soutien par les pairs qui ont accepté le prix sont : Chris Cassey, Pierre Gaumond, Paul Lutman, Dennis Mitchell et Lyne Wilson.

Exploitant national du système de navigation aérienne civile, NAV CANADA est une société du secteur privé qui assure à la grandeur du pays les services suivants : contrôle de la circulation aérienne, information de vol, exposés météorologiques, services d’information aéronautique, services consultatifs d’aéroport et aides électroniques à la navigation.

Biographies :

Anne Breen, contrôleure de la circulation aérienne, Centre de contrôle régional de Vancouver

Contrôleure de la circulation aérienne très respectée à l’ACC de Vancouver, Anne a su aider, par son calme et son professionnalisme, un pilote dont l’aéronef avait un moteur coupé et qui était en danger d’en perdre le contrôle. Selon ses pairs, Anne a su assurer l’atterrissage sécuritaire de l’aéronef tout en continuant d’aider d’autres vols dans sa zone de responsabilité.

Le 19 décembre 2014, le vol 405 d’Island Express, un bimoteur Piper Navajo, a quitté l’aéroport de Nanaimo (CYCD) en direction d’Abbotsford, en Colombie-Britannique, malgré le mauvais temps. Peu de temps après le décollage, le pilote a signalé une panne du moteur droit et a demandé l’autorisation de retourner à Nanaimo.

Le plafond était bas et le pilote a demandé un guidage radar pour effectuer une approche ILS. Anne et ses collègues de la sous-unité Région terminale de Victoria ont constaté que le pilote peinait à maintenir l’altitude et le cap qui lui avaient été assignés. Il se dirigeait vers une zone où le relief était plus élevé, et est même descendu en deçà de l’altitude minimale de guidage à un certain moment. Grâce à son expérience de pilote et de contrôleure de la circulation aérienne, Anne a aidé le pilote à rester calme et à maintenir le contrôle de son aéronef.

Les collègues d’Anne sont unanimes à reconnaître « son calme, son intervention professionnelle et ses directives opportunes » qui ont permis au pilote d’éviter les collines environnantes. Comme l’a dit son surveillant, « J’étais debout à côté d’Anne ce jour-là, en train de regarder l’écran radar avec incrédulité. Le pilote n’arrivait pas à maintenir son altitude ou sa trajectoire, peinait clairement à garder l’aéronef en vol et se dirigeait carrément vers un relief plus élevé. »

Un autre collègue qui était présent a dit : « Grâce à son calme et à son professionnalisme, Anne a su aider le pilote à atterrir en toute sécurité à Nanaimo après qu’un des moteurs de l’aéronef de ce dernier est tombé en panne. Elle a si bien géré la situation que je suis certain qu’elle a aidé à éviter un résultat bien pire. »

Maureen Stevens, spécialiste de l’information de vol, Station d’information de vol des Îles‑de‑la‑Madeleine

L’aéroport des Îles-de-la-Madeleine (CYGR) se situe sur l’une des îles dans le golfe du Saint‑Laurent. La station d’information de vol (FSS) fournit des services aux clients de l’aviation générale qui utilisent l’aéroport et assure le service consultatif télécommandé d’aérodrome (RAAS) à Natashquan et à Havre-Saint-Pierre, qui se situent sur la côte nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Lorsque deux tempêtes hivernales ont frappé l’Est du Canada l’une après l’autre en 2015, Maureen Stevens, spécialiste de l’information de vol, a largement dépassé le cadre de ses fonctions afin de maintenir ces services. Elle avait prévu le coup en amenant des effets personnels et assez de nourriture pour passer plusieurs jours à la station. En raison de vents extrêmes en rafales atteignant jusqu’à 75 mi/h et d’une accumulation de 14 pouces de neige, Maureen est restée à la FSS pendant presque 48 heures, travaillant 18 heures consécutives à un poste et dormant deux nuits à l’aéroport parce que les routes étaient fermées.

Maureen a gardé la FSS et le RAAS ouverts jusqu’à la fermeture normale et les a aussi ouverts le lendemain. En s’assurant que la station reste ouverte, Maureen a fait en sorte que les habitants de l’île aient accès aux services d’ambulance aérienne d’urgence, qui ne se rendent pas aux Îles‑de‑la‑Madeleine dans des situations d’urgence à moins qu’un spécialiste ne soit en poste à la station. Ses actions ont également permis à ses collègues de rester à la maison avec leur famille sans risquer le déplacement à la station. Grâce à son engagement envers la sécurité, les activités de NAV CANADA aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine étaient normales durant les deux tempêtes.

Du Jin Moon, surveillant d’équipe CNS, Tour de Vancouver

Le matin du 26 novembre 2014, le Système automatisé d’observations météorologiques (AWOS) de l’aéroport de Prince George (CYXS), en Colombie-Britannique, est tombé en panne. Les contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne et les pilotes n’avaient donc aucune information météorologique essentielle. L’aéroport a dû être fermé; 35 vols ont été annulés et 900 voyageurs, cloués au sol.

Les technologues qui assurent l’entretien de l’équipement de NAV CANADA à l’aéroport de Prince George sont basés à Vancouver et prennent normalement l’avion pour s’y rendre afin d’entretenir et de réparer l’équipement. L’aéroport étant fermé, cela était impossible. Au moment où l’AWOS est tombé en panne, Du Jin Moon, surveillant CNS de Vancouver, effectuait un entretien à l’aéroport de Fort Nelson (CYYE), à environ 500 milles au nord de Prince George. Plutôt que d’assigner la tâche à l’un de ses employés, il a décidé de l’exécuter lui‑même.

Il a réussi à réserver un vol à destination de Prince George, mais le vol a été dérouté vers Fort St. John, en Colombie-Britannique, à quelque 270 milles de Prince George. Sachant qu’il était très important de restaurer l’AWOS, Du Jin a décidé de se rendre à Prince George en automobile.

À 15 h, il a entrepris ce trajet malgré la tempête de neige qui sévissait alors qu’il traversait des zones montagneuses, où il n’avait pas toujours de couverture cellulaire. Il est arrivé à Prince George à environ minuit et a commencé les réparations. Il a travaillé toute la nuit et a remis l’AWOS en service à 6 h le 27 novembre, ce qui a permis d’ouvrir l’aéroport pour les vols réguliers.

Sans le dévouement et l’engagement extraordinaires de Du Jin, sans mentionner ses 24 heures consécutives d’efforts, cette panne aurait duré beaucoup plus longtemps et aurait eu une incidence plus grande sur l’aéroport, les lignes aériennes et le public voyageur.

François Bisaillon, coordonnateur des systèmes de données, Centre de contrôle régional de Montréal

François Bisaillon a été l’un des principaux acteurs de la conception, du développement et du déploiement d’une adaptation de données pour le logiciel du Système d’affichage amélioré (EXCDS) de NAV CANADA, ou les fiches électroniques de progression de vol. Cette adaptation permet aux contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne et aux spécialistes de l’information de vol d’effectuer toutes les procédures de coordination requises par voie électronique.

En février 2014, François a surveillé la mise en œuvre de l’adaptation de l’EXCDS dans la sous‑unité Espace aérien inférieur Est de l’ACC de Montréal. Cet ACC est le premier de NAV CANADA à utiliser la transmission électronique pour tous ses échanges de données opérationnelles entre les secteurs en route, les sous-unités de région terminale, les tours et les stations d’information de vol. L’adaptation est un tel succès à l’ACC de Montréal qu’elle sera mise en œuvre dans tous les ACC de NAV CANADA.

L’échange d’information uniquement par données électroniques permet plusieurs gains au niveau de la sécurité. Les risques d’erreur dans les échanges entre contrôleurs sont grandement réduits car tous utilisent les mêmes données. Le temps consacré aux échanges est maintenant moindre, ce qui permet au personnel opérationnel de se concentrer sur sa tâche principale et limite les distractions potentielles. Puisque l’information présentée aux contrôleurs est ajustée selon le contexte opérationnel, ils peuvent la traiter plus rapidement et passer plus de temps aux tâches de planification et de contrôle.

En outre, cette application élimine les tâches laborieuses sur papier ainsi que les transmissions vocales pour relayer des autorisations et des instructions aux pilotes et accélère les interventions tactiques lors des pointes de trafic.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michelle Bishop
Directrice, Relations gouvernementales et affaires publiques
613-563-7520
 
Ron Singer
Gestionnaire national, Relations avec les médias
613-563-7303
 
Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226