Home > Home > Media > NR 23 2016

NAV CANADA announces third quarter financial results 


(Ottawa, July 15, 2016) – NAV CANADA today released its financial results for the three and nine months ended May 31, 2016. The results show continued success in controlling costs while maintaining safe and efficient air navigation services, as well as growth in air traffic volumes of 3.0 per cent for the third quarter of fiscal 2016 compared to the same period in the prior fiscal year. ​

The Company’s fiscal year runs from September 1 to August 31. In the first three quarters of fiscal 2016, the Company had positive free cash flow(1) of $31 million and strong financial performance as evidenced by its rate stabilization account, finishing with a positive(2) balance of $137 million. When adjusted for rate setting purposes, there is a positive(2) “notional” balance of $155 million in the rate stabilization account, which is above its target balance of $100 million.

Based on the strength of the rate stabilization account and the Company’s positive financial outlook for fiscal 2016 and fiscal 2017, on April 8, 2016 the Company issued a notice of revised service charges for consultation, providing details of the proposed revisions. The consultation period concluded on July 6, 2016. The Company intends to issue an announcement later in July 2016 detailing the implementation of the revised charges.
 
Effective September 1, 2015, the Company began reporting its financial results in accordance with IFRS, including comparative figures for fiscal 2015.
 
The Company’s revenue for the third quarter of fiscal 2016 was $337 million, compared to $329 million over the same period in fiscal 2015, mainly due to the growth in air traffic volumes.

Operating expenses for the third quarter of fiscal 2016 were $319 million as compared to $304 million over the same period in fiscal 2015, mainly due to higher compensation levels, inflationary increases and other operating expenses. Lower interest expense, lower finance costs relating to employee benefits and higher positive fair value adjustments on ABCP investments, partially offset by higher foreign exchange losses resulted in net other income and expenses of $34 million expense for the third quarter of fiscal 2016 as compared to an expense of $37 million over the same period in fiscal 2015.

The Company had a net loss (before net movement in regulatory deferral accounts including rate stabilization) of $16 million for the third quarter of fiscal 2016 as compared to a net loss of $12 million over the same period in fiscal 2015. 
 
The Company is subject to legislation that regulates the level of its charges, and the timing of recognition of certain revenue and expenses is adjusted through movements in regulatory deferral accounts. The net movement in regulatory deferral accounts for the third quarter of fiscal 2016 was an income of $8 million as compared to an income of $4 million over the same period in fiscal 2015. The increase is mainly due to $16 million higher deferrals of favourable results through rate stabilization adjustments, offset by $20 million more of regulatory adjustments for certain transactions to adjust the accounting recognition to the periods in which they will be considered for rate setting.

Based on the above, the Company had a net loss (after net movements in regulatory deferral accounts including rate stabilization) of $8 million for the third quarter of fiscal 2016 as compared to a net loss of $8 million over the same period in fiscal 2015.

The Company’s Financial Statements and Management's Discussion and Analysis for the three and nine months ended May 31, 2016 can be found at: 


NAV CANADA is the country’s private sector civil air navigation services provider. With operations from coast to coast to coast, NAV CANADA provides air traffic control, flight information, weather briefings, aeronautical information services, airport advisory services and electronic aids to navigation. 

(1) Free cash flow is a non-GAAP financial measure used by the Company to enhance the overall understanding of its financial and operating performance. Non-GAAP financial measures do not have any standardized meaning prescribed by IFRS and therefore may not be comparable to similar measures presented by other issuers. The Company defines free cash flow as cash generated from operations, less capital expenditures and investments in Aireon LLC and other subsidiaries. Management places importance on this indicator as it assists in measuring the impact of its investment program on the Company’s financial resources. 

(2) A positive balance in the rate stabilization account represents a regulatory credit balance on the Company’s statement of financial position, reflecting amounts returnable to customers through future customer service charges.

 
For further information, please contact:

Michelle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520

Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations
(613) 563-7303
Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226

This press release contains certain forward-looking statements that are subject to important risks and uncertainties. Actual results may differ materially from the results indicated in these statements for a number of reasons. NAV CANADA disclaims any intention to update any forward-looking statements.

Home > Accueil > Média > NR-23-2016

NAV CANADA annonce ses résultats financiers pour le troisième trimestre 


(Ottawa, le 15 juillet 2016) – NAV CANADA a annoncé aujourd’hui ses résultats financiers pour les périodes de trois et de neuf mois terminées le 31 mai 2016. Les résultats indiquent que la Société continue de contrôler efficacement ses coûts tout en assurant des services de navigation aérienne sécuritaires et efficaces, et montrent une croissance des volumes de trafic aérien de 3 % pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2015-2016 comparativement à ceux enregistrés au cours de la même période de l’exercice précédent. 

L’exercice de la Société s’échelonne du 1er septembre au 31 août. Au cours des trois premiers trimestres de l’exercice 2015-2016, la Société a enregistré un flux de trésorerie disponible(1) positif de 31 millions de dollars et un rendement financier solide, tel que le fait voir le compte de stabilisation des tarifs, qui a clôturé le trimestre avec un solde positif(2) de 137 millions de dollars. Après un ajustement aux fins de l’établissement des tarifs, le compte de stabilisation des tarifs affiche un solde « notionnel » positif(2) de 155 millions de dollars, ce qui excède le solde cible de 100 millions de dollars.

Compte tenu de la vigueur actuelle du compte de stabilisation des tarifs et de ses perspectives financières positives pour les exercices 2015-2016 et 2016-2017, la Société a diffusé le 8 avril 2016, aux fins de consultation, un avis de redevances révisées décrivant en détail les révisions proposées. La période de consultation a pris fin le 6 juillet 2016 et plus tard au cours du même mois, la Société prévoit faire une annonce donnant le détail de la mise en œuvre des redevances révisées. 

Depuis le 1er septembre 2015, la Société publie ses états financiers conformément aux IFRS (normes internationales d’information financière), ce qui inclut les montants comparatifs pour l’exercice 2014-2015.

Les produits de la Société pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2015-2016 ont totalisé 337 millions de dollars contre 329 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2014-2015, en raison principalement de la hausse des volumes de trafic aérien.

Les charges d’exploitation pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2015-2016 se sont élevées à 319 millions de dollars comparativement à 304 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2014-2015, en raison principalement des niveaux de rémunération supérieurs, des augmentations du taux d’inflation et d’autres charges d’exploitation. Une charge nette de 34 millions de dollars, comparativement à une charge nette de 37 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2014-2015, a été constatée au poste des autres produits et charges nets pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2015-2016, en raison d’une baisse des charges d’intérêt, des coûts de financement moindres reliés aux avantages sociaux des employés et d’une hausse des rajustements de juste valeur positifs des placements au titre du papier commercial adossé à des actifs (PCAA), neutralisés en partie par une hausse des pertes sur les taux de change.

La Société a inscrit une perte nette (avant la constatation des mouvements nets dans les comptes de report réglementaires, y compris pour la stabilisation des tarifs) de 16 millions de dollars pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2015-2016 contre une perte nette de 12 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2014-2015. 

La Société est assujettie à une législation qui réglemente le niveau de ses redevances, et le moment de la constatation de certains produits et charges est ajusté par l’application de mouvements dans les comptes de report réglementaires. Un produit net de 8 millions de dollars, comparativement à un produit net de 4 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2014-2015, a été inscrit au titre des mouvements nets constatés dans les comptes de report réglementaires pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice de 2015-2016. Cette augmentation s’explique principalement par une hausse de 16 millions de dollars des reports de résultats favorables au titre des ajustements à la stabilisation des tarifs, contrebalancée par des ajustements réglementaires de 20 millions de dollars de plus à certaines transactions afin d’ajuster la constatation comptable aux périodes au cours desquelles elles seront prises en considération pour l’établissement des tarifs.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, la Société a inscrit une perte nette (après la constatation des mouvements nets dans les comptes de report réglementaires, y compris pour la stabilisation des tarifs) de 8 millions de dollars pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2015-2016 contre une perte nette de 8 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2014-2015.

Les états financiers et le rapport de gestion de la Société pour les périodes de trois et de neuf mois ayant pris fin le 31 mai 2016 sont disponibles aux liens suivants : 


Exploitant national du système de navigation aérienne civile, NAV CANADA est une société du secteur privé qui assure à la grandeur du pays les services suivants : contrôle de la circulation aérienne, information de vol, exposés météorologiques, services d’information aéronautique, services consultatifs d’aéroport et aides électroniques à la navigation. 
(1) Le flux de trésorerie disponible est une mesure financière qui n’est pas liée aux principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) et qu’utilise la Société pour améliorer la compréhension globale de son rendement financier et d’exploitation. Les mesures financières non liées aux PCGR n’ont aucune signification normalisée prescrite par les IFRS et peuvent donc ne pas être comparables aux mesures similaires présentées par d’autres émetteurs. La Société définit le flux de trésorerie disponible comme étant les recettes tirées des activités d’exploitation, moins les dépenses d’immobilisations et les investissements dans Aireon LLC et autres filiales. La direction accorde de l’importance à cet indicateur car il aide à mesurer l’incidence de son programme d’investissement sur les ressources financières de la Société. 

(2) Un solde positif dans le compte de stabilisation des tarifs représente un solde créditeur aux comptes de report réglementaires dans le bilan financier de la Société et reflète les montants qui seront remis aux clients par l’entremise de redevances futures.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michelle Bishop
Directrice, Relations gouvernementales et affaires publiques
(613) 563-7520

Ron Singer
Gestionnaire national, Relations avec les médias
(613) 563-7303
Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226

Le présent communiqué de presse contient certains énoncés prospectifs, lesquels sont sujets à des risques et incertitudes importants. Les résultats réels peuvent différer sensiblement des résultats indiqués dans ces énoncés prospectifs pour diverses raisons. NAV CANADA décline toute intention de mettre à jour tout énoncé prospectif.