Home > Home > Media > NR 21 2016

NAV CANADA hosts international air traffic management conference

Civil Air Navigation Services Organisation (CANSO) Global Air Traffic Management Summit and AGM being held in Vancouver


(Ottawa, June 20, 2016) – NAV CANADA is proud to host the CANSO Global Air Traffic Management (ATM) Summit and 20th Annual General Meeting in Vancouver. This year’s Summit runs from 20 – 22 June with the theme: “Rising to the Challenge of ATM: Leading, Integrating, Implementing.”

“We are very pleased to act as host of the 2016 CANSO Summit and AGM and welcome all delegates to beautiful Vancouver, the city and surrounding area with some of the busiest airports, a diverse air traffic mix and a number of NAV CANADA facilities,” said Neil Wilson, President and CEO of NAV CANADA. “The timing is apt that we are hosting CANSO’s 20th AGM this year as NAV CANADA is marking its own 20th anniversary as owner and operator of Canada’s civil air navigation service.
 
“Connections and collaboration are built into the foundations of NAV CANADA, and CANSO plays an important role in helping us maintain strong connections with our international partners and colleagues. These robust partnerships are essential to cooperating and sharing information with our aviation customers and partner organizations,” added Wilson.
 
Dr. Fang Liu, ICAO Secretary General and Paul Riemens, Chair, CANSO Executive Committee will provide keynote speeches at the Summit’s opening session. Dr. Liu and Mr. Riemens will then participate in a Leadership Panel with senior representatives from the Airports Council International, the International Air Transport Association and the International Federation of Air Traffic Controllers' Associations.
 
Other sessions address topics such as safety management; working collaboratively with airports and airlines to improve the flow of air traffic; the challenge of new entrants to airspace; and the acquisition and provision of ATM systems.
 
“The CANSO Global ATM Summit and 20th AGM brings together around 230 leaders from air traffic management organisations around the world‎ to discuss and cooperate on strategic and topical issues in the industry,” said Jeff Poole, Director General, CANSO. “We are delighted that NAV CANADA is kindly hosting the events. It has a great track record in contributing to CANSO’s programmes to transform global ATM performance; sharing best practice in air traffic management; and demonstrating an innovative and cutting edge approach to managing airspace effectively and efficiently.”

ABOUT CANSO
CANSO – the Civil Air Navigation Services Organisation – is the global voice of air traffic management (ATM) worldwide. CANSO Members support over 85 per cent of world air traffic. Members share information and develop new policies, with the ultimate aim of improving air navigation services (ANS) on the ground and in the air. CANSO represents its Members’ views to a wide range of aviation stakeholders, including the International Civil Aviation Organization, where it has official Observer status. CANSO has an extensive network of Associate Members drawn from across the aviation industry.
 
ABOUT NAV CANADA
NAV CANADA is the country's private sector civil air navigation service provider. With operations from coast to coast to coast, NAV CANADA provides air traffic control, flight information, weather briefings, aeronautical information services, airport advisory services and electronic aids to navigation.
 
For further information, please contact:
 
Michelle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520
 
Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations
(613) 563-7303
 
Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226

Home > Accueil > Média > NR 21 2016

NAV CANADA accueille une conférence internationale sur la gestion de la circulation aérienne

Le sommet mondial de gestion de la circulation aérienne et l’assemblée générale annuelle (AGA) de l’Organisation des services de navigation aérienne civile (CANSO) auront lieu à Vancouver

 

(Ottawa, le 20 juin 2016) – NAV CANADA est fière d’accueillir le sommet mondial de gestion de la circulation aérienne (ATM) et la 20e assemblée générale annuelle de la CANSO à Vancouver. Le sommet de cette année se déroulera du 20 au 22 juin avec pour thème « Relever le défi de l’ATM : diriger, intégrer, appliquer ».

« Nous sommes très heureux d’être les hôtes du sommet et de l’AGA 2016 de la CANSO et souhaitons la bienvenue à tous les délégués dans la magnifique ville de Vancouver, une ville et une région environnante comptant certains des aéroports les plus achalandés ainsi que de nombreux aménagements de NAV CANADA, et où la circulation aérienne est variée, » de dire Neil Wilson, président et chef de la direction de NAV CANADA. « Notre accueil de la 20e AGA de la CANSO tombe à point nommé, car NAV CANADA marque son propre 20e anniversaire à titre de propriétaire et d’exploitant du service de navigation aérienne civile du Canada. »

« Les liens et la collaboration font partie intégrante des fondements de NAV CANADA, et la CANSO joue un rôle important pour nous aider à entretenir d’étroites relations avec nos collègues et nos partenaires internationaux. Ces partenariats solides sont essentiels à la collaboration et au partage de l’information avec nos clients de l’aviation et nos organismes partenaires », a ajouté M. Wilson.

La Dre Fang Liu, secrétaire générale de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI), et Paul Riemens, président du comité exécutif de la CANSO, prononceront un discours programme dans le cadre de la séance d’ouverture du sommet. La Dre Liu et M. Riemens participeront ensuite à une séance de discussion avec des dirigeants du Conseil international des aéroports, de l’Association du transport aérien international et de la Fédération internationale des associations de contrôleurs du trafic aérien.

D’autres séances aborderont des sujets tels que la gestion de la sécurité, la collaboration avec les aéroports et les transporteurs aériens pour améliorer le débit de la circulation aérienne, le défi des nouveaux entrants dans l’espace aérien, ainsi que l’acquisition et la prestation de systèmes ATM.

« Le sommet mondial ATM et la 20e AGA de la CANSO rassemblent environ 230 dirigeants des organismes de gestion de la circulation aérienne du monde entier pour discuter de questions stratégiques et d’actualité de l’industrie et collaborer à cet égard, a expliqué Jeff Poole, directeur général de la CANSO. Nous sommes ravis que NAV CANADA accueille ces événements. La Société a une excellente réputation quant à sa participation aux programmes de la CANSO en vue de transformer la performance ATM à l’échelle mondiale, de partager les pratiques exemplaires de gestion de la circulation aérienne et de démontrer une approche innovatrice et avant-gardiste envers la gestion efficace de l’espace aérien. »

À PROPOS DE LA CANSO
L’Organisation des services de navigation aérienne civile (CANSO) est la voix mondiale de la gestion de la circulation aérienne (ATM) internationale. Les membres de la CANSO soutiennent plus de 85 % de la circulation aérienne mondiale. Ils partagent de l’information et élaborent de nouvelles politiques dans le but ultime d’améliorer les services de navigation aérienne au sol et dans les airs. La CANSO représente les points de vue de ses membres auprès d’une vaste gamme d’intervenants du monde de l’aviation, y compris l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI), où elle bénéficie d’un statut d’observateur officiel. La CANSO a un réseau étendu de membres associés provenant de toute l’industrie de l’aviation.

À PROPOS DE NAV CANADA
Exploitant national du système de navigation aérienne civile, NAV CANADA est une société du secteur privé qui assure à la grandeur du pays les services suivants : contrôle de la circulation aérienne, information de vol, exposés météorologiques, services d’information aéronautique, services consultatifs d’aéroport et aides électroniques à la navigation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michelle Bishop
Directrice, Relations gouvernementales et affaires publiques
613-563-7520

Ron Singer
Gestionnaire national, Relations avec les médias
613-563-7303

Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226