Home > Home > Media > NR 19 2019

NAV CANADA informed of appeal, to commence mediation

(Ottawa, September 27, 2019) – NAV CANADA today announced that it has been informed by the Canadian Transportation Agency (the Agency) that the Agency has received an appeal by the International Air Transportation Association (IATA) of the revised service charges set out in NAV CANADA’s Announcement of Revised Service Charges dated August 15, 2019.  The Agency is the designated appeal body for NAV CANADA charges pursuant to the provisions of the Civil Air Navigation Services Commercialization Act. 

NAV CANADA and IATA have since agreed to mediation, which is expected to commence in October 2019. If the mediation is not successful, after considering the submissions of both IATA and NAV CANADA, the Agency must decide the appeal within 60 days, unless the Agency is of the opinion that there are special circumstances involved in the determination of the appeal, in which case the Agency has a further 30 days to decide the appeal. 

In the meantime, the revised base rates implemented on September 1, 2019, which represent an average 0.8 per cent increase from previous base rates, will remain in effect. 

“Should the parties be unable to resolve all matters at the mediation, NAV CANADA will vigorously defend the appeal as our commitment to the safety benefits afforded by space-based ADS-B is unwavering” said Leigh Ann Kirby, Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, NAV CANADA.   

About NAV Canada
NAV CANADA is a private, not-for-profit company, established in 1996, providing air traffic control, airport advisory services, weather briefings and aeronautical information services for more than 18 million square kilometres of Canadian domestic and international airspace.

The Company is internationally recognized for its safety record, and technology innovation. Air traffic management systems developed by NAV CANADA are used by air navigation service providers in countries worldwide.

For further information, please contact: 

Rebecca Hickey       
Senior Manager, Public Affairs        
(613) 808-5182        

 Leigh Ann Kirby
Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary
(613) 563-7835 

 ​Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226

​​​

Home > Accueil > Média > NR 19 2019

NAV CANADA informée du dépôt d’un appel – médiation prévue

(Ottawa, le 27 septembre 2019) – NAV CANADA a annoncé aujourd’hui avoir été informée par l’Office des transports du Canada que l’Association du transport aérien international (IATA) avait interjeté appel auprès de l’Office au sujet des redevances révisées établies dans l’Annonce de redevances révisées de NAV CANADA datée du 15 août 2019. L’Office est l’organisme d’appel désigné relativement aux redevances de NAV CANADA, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la commercialisation des services de navigation aérienne civile. 

NAV CANADA et l’IATA ont depuis convenu d’aller en médiation, processus qui devrait commencer en octobre 2019. Si ce processus échoue, l’Office devra, après avoir étudié les observations de l’IATA et de NAV CANADA, rendre une décision dans un délai de 60 jours, à moins que l’Office ne soit d’avis que des circonstances spéciales s’appliquent, auquel cas il aura 30 jours de plus pour le faire. 

Entre-temps, les tarifs de base révisés entrés en vigueur le 1er septembre 2019, qui représentent une augmentation moyenne de 0,8 % comparativement aux tarifs de base précédents, resteront en vigueur. 

« Si les parties sont incapables de s’entendre par suite du processus de médiation, NAV CANADA se défendra vigoureusement dans le cadre de l’appel, notre conviction envers les avantages que procure l’ADS-B satellitaire sur le plan de la sécurité étant inébranlable », a déclaré Leigh Ann Kirby, vice présidente, avocate en chef et secrétaire générale de NAV CANADA.

Au sujet de NAV CANADA
NAV CANADA est une société privée sans but lucratif, créée en 1996, qui fournit des services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, des services consultatifs d’aéroport, des exposés météorologiques ainsi que des services d’information aéronautique dans plus de 18 millions de kilomètres carrés d’espace aérien intérieur et d’espace aérien international sous contrôle canadien.

La Société est reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour son dossier de sécurité et ses innovations technologiques. Les systèmes de gestion de la circulation aérienne élaborés par NAV CANADA sont utilisés par des fournisseurs de services de navigation aérienne partout dans le monde.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec : 

Rebecca Hickey        
Gestionnaire principale, Affaires publiques        
613-808-5182        

Leigh Ann Kirby
Vice-présidente, avocate en chef et secrétaire générale
613-563-7835  

Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226

​​​