Home > Home > Media > NR 16 2017

NAV CANADA announces third quarter financial results 

(Ottawa, July 14, 2017) – NAV CANADA today released its financial results for the three and nine months ended May 31, 2017. The results reflect growth in air traffic volumes as measured by weighted charging units of 5.9 per cent over the same period in the prior fiscal year (5.5 per cent excluding the effect of the leap year in fiscal 2016) and demonstrate the Company’s ongoing efforts in controlling costs and making strategic investments in its core services while maintaining safe and efficient air navigation.

The Company’s fiscal year runs from September 1 to August 31. In the third quarter of fiscal 2017, the Company had cash of $218 million, a negative free cash flow(1) of $34 million due to seasonally weaker air traffic but continued its strong financial performance for the fiscal year as evidenced by its rate stabilization account, which finished the quarter with a positive(2) balance of $177 million which is above its target balance of $101 million.

The Company’s revenue for the third quarter of fiscal 2017 was $332 million, compared to $337 million over the same period in fiscal 2016, mainly due to the lower service charges (7.6 per cent on average) that became effective September 1, 2016 partially offset by a 5.9 per cent growth in air traffic volumes.

“The steady and sustained traffic growth that we have seen over the past three years has continued into the third quarter of fiscal 2017,” said Neil Wilson, President and CEO. “This strong traffic and the increases we have seen to our rate stabilization account put the Company in good stead to implement the proposed rate reductions and a customer refund slated for the next fiscal year.” The Company issued a notice of revised service charges for consultation on May 30, 2017, providing details of the proposed revisions.  The consultation period concludes on July 31, 2017.

Operating expenses for the third quarter of fiscal 2017 were $348 million as compared to $319 million over the same period in fiscal 2016, mainly due to a curtailment loss recorded on the voluntary elimination of severance benefits for employees represented by the CATCA collective agreement, higher pension current service costs and higher compensation costs. The Company uses a regulatory approach to determine the net impact charged to net income (loss) for its pension costs. The objective of this approach is to expense the cost of the Company’s cash going concern and special payment contributions. Going concern pension contributions were lower in the third quarter of fiscal 2017 and this reduction in expense was recorded as a net increase in regulatory deferrals adjustments.

Net other income and expenses for the third quarter of fiscal 2017 were a net expense of $16 million as compared to a net expense of $34 million over the same period in fiscal 2016, primarily due to gains recorded on the partial sale of the Company’s investment in a subsidiary during the quarter, lower interest expense and higher foreign exchange gains, partially offset by higher net interest costs related to employee benefits. 

The Company had a net loss (before net movement in regulatory deferral accounts including rate stabilization) of $35 million in the third quarter of fiscal 2017 as compared to a net loss of $16 million for the third quarter of fiscal 2016.

The Company is subject to legislation that governs how it sets its charges. The timing of the recognition of certain revenue and expenses recovered through charges is recorded through movements in regulatory deferral accounts. The net movement in regulatory deferral accounts for the third quarter of fiscal 2017 was income of $27 million as compared to income of $8 million over the same period in fiscal 2016. This change in regulatory deferrals of $19 million as compared to the same period in fiscal 2016 is due to lower deferrals of favourable results through rate stabilization adjustments of $18 million and a $1 million net increase in regulatory deferral adjustments to adjust the accounting recognition of certain transactions to the periods in which they will be considered for rate setting.

The Company’s Financial Statements and Management's Discussion and Analysis for the three and nine months ended May 31, 2017 can be found at:
About NAV CANADA 

NAV CANADA is a private, not-for-profit company, established in 1996, providing air traffic control, airport advisory services, weather briefings and aeronautical information services for more than 18 million square kilometres of Canadian domestic and international airspace.

The Company is internationally recognized for its safety record, and technology innovation. Air traffic management systems developed by NAV CANADA are used by air navigation service providers in countries worldwide.

We are a founding partner of Aireon LLC, an international joint venture deploying a space based Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) system that will expand air traffic surveillance to all regions of the globe. 

(1)     Free cash flow is a non-GAAP financial measure used by the Company to enhance the overall understanding of its financial and operating performance. Non-GAAP financial measures do not have any standardized meaning prescribed by IFRS and therefore may not be comparable to similar measures presented by other issuers. The Company defines free cash flow as cash generated from operations, less capital expenditures and investments in Aireon LLC and equity related investments. Management places importance on this indicator as it assists in measuring the impact of its investment program on the Company’s financial resources. 
 
(2)     A positive balance in the rate stabilization account represents a regulatory credit balance on the Company’s statement of financial position, reflecting amounts returnable to customers through future customer service charges.
 
For further information, please contact:
 
Michelle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520

Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations 
(613) 563-7303                                    
 
Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226
 
This press release contains certain forward-looking statements that are subject to important risks and uncertainties. Actual results may differ materially from the results indicated in these statements for a number of reasons. NAV CANADA disclaims any intention to update any forward-looking statements.

Home > Accueil > Média > NR 16 2017

NAV CANADA annonce ses résultats financiers pour le troisième trimestre

(Ottawa, le 14 juillet 2017) – NAV CANADA a annoncé aujourd’hui ses résultats financiers pour les périodes de trois et neuf mois terminées le 31 mai 2017. Les résultats reflètent une croissance des volumes de trafic aérien, mesurés en unités de redevance pondérées, de 5,9 % par rapport à la même période de l’exercice précédent (ou de 5,5 % si l’on exclut l’incidence de l’année bissextile sur l’exercice 2015-2016) et indiquent que la Société poursuit ses efforts afin de contrôler efficacement ses coûts et d’investir de façon stratégique dans ses services principaux tout en assurant une navigation aérienne sécuritaire et efficace. 
 
L’exercice de la Société s’échelonne du 1er septembre au 31 août. Au cours du troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017, la Société a affiché un solde de trésorerie de 218 millions de dollars et un flux de trésorerie disponible(1) négatif de 34 millions de dollars en raison d’un trafic saisonnier moindre, mais un rendement financier solide, tel que le fait voir le compte de stabilisation des tarifs, qui a clôturé le trimestre avec un solde positif(2) de 177 millions de dollars, ce qui est supérieur à son solde cible de 101 millions de dollars.
 
Les produits de la Société pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 ont totalisé 332 millions de dollars contre 337 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2015-2016, en raison principalement des redevances révisées réduites (de 7,6 % en moyenne) entrées en vigueur le 1er septembre 2016, qui ont été compensées en partie par la hausse de 5,9 % des volumes de trafic aérien.
 
« La croissance constante et soutenue que nous avons connue au cours des trois dernières années s’est poursuivie durant le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 », a déclaré Neil Wilson, président et chef de la direction. « Cette croissance marquée du trafic et les augmentations du solde de notre compte de stabilisation des tarifs placent la Société dans une excellente position pour mettre en œuvre la réduction proposée de ses taux et un remboursement à ses clients prévus au cours du prochain exercice. » Le 30 mai 2017, la Société a diffusé un préavis de redevances révisées aux fins de consultation, décrivant en détail les révisions proposées. La période de consultation prend fin le 31 juillet 2017.
 
Les charges d’exploitation pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 ont totalisé 348 millions de dollars comparativement à 319 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice précédent, en raison principalement d’une perte sur compression constatée au titre de l’élimination volontaire des indemnités de départ des employés représentés par la convention collective de l’Association canadienne du contrôle du trafic aérien (ACCTA), des coûts accrus pour les prestations pour services rendus au cours de l’exercice et des niveaux de rémunération supérieurs. La Société utilise une approche réglementaire pour déterminer l’incidence nette imputée aux recettes nettes (perte) pour couvrir les coûts liés aux retraites. L’objectif de cette approche est de porter comme dépense les coûts de trésorerie de la Société établis selon l’hypothèse de la continuité de l’exploitation ainsi que les cotisations effectuées à titre de paiements spéciaux. Selon l’hypothèse de la continuité de l’exploitation, les cotisations aux régimes de retraite ont été inférieures au cours du troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017, et cette réduction des dépenses a été enregistrée comme une augmentation nette des ajustements aux comptes de report réglementaires. 
 
Les autres produits et charges pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 ont consisté en une charge nette de 16 millions de dollars comparativement à une charge nette de 34 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice précédent, en raison principalement des gains constatés pour la vente partielle d’un investissement de la Société dans une filiale au cours du trimestre, des charges d’intérêts moindres et des gains de change plus élevés, neutralisés en partie par une hausse des frais d’intérêts nets liés aux avantages sociaux des employés.
 
La Société a inscrit une perte nette (avant la constatation des mouvements nets dans les comptes de report réglementaires, y compris pour la stabilisation des tarifs) de 35 millions de dollars au cours du troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 contre une perte nette de 16 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2015-2016. 
 
La Société est assujettie à une législation qui régit le niveau de ses redevances. Le moment de la constatation de certains produits et charges recouvrées par l’entremise des redevances est enregistré par l’application de mouvements nets dans les comptes de report réglementaires. Un produit net de 27 millions de dollars, comparativement à un produit net de 8 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2015-2016, a été inscrit au titre des mouvements nets constatés dans les comptes de report réglementaires pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice de 2016-2017. Cette variation de 19 millions de dollars dans les comptes de report réglementaires par rapport à la même période de l’exercice 2015-2016 s’explique principalement par une baisse de 18 millions de dollars des reports de résultats favorables au titre des ajustements à la stabilisation des tarifs et par une augmentation nette de 1 million de dollars des ajustements de reports réglementaires afin d’ajuster la constatation comptable de certaines transactions aux périodes au cours desquelles elles seront prises en considération pour l’établissement des tarifs.
 
Les états financiers et le rapport de gestion de la Société pour les périodes de trois et de neuf mois ayant pris fin le 31 mai 2017 sont disponibles aux liens suivants :
À propos de NAV CANADA
NAV CANADA est une société privée sans but lucratif, créée en 1996, qui fournit des services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, des services consultatifs d’aéroport, des exposés météorologiques ainsi que des services d’information aéronautique dans plus de 18 millions de kilomètres carrés d’espace aérien intérieur et d’espace aérien international sous contrôle canadien.

La Société est reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour son dossier de sécurité et ses innovations technologiques. Les systèmes de gestion de la circulation aérienne élaborés par NAV CANADA sont utilisés par des fournisseurs de services de navigation aérienne partout dans le monde.

NAV CANADA est un partenaire fondateur d’Aireon LLC, une coentreprise internationale qui vise à étendre la couverture de surveillance de la circulation aérienne à la planète toute entière grâce à un système de surveillance dépendante automatique en mode diffusion (ADS-B) satellitaire.
 
(1)     Le flux de trésorerie disponible est une mesure financière qui n’est pas liée aux principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) et qu’utilise la Société pour améliorer la compréhension globale de son rendement financier et d’exploitation. Les mesures financières non liées aux PCGR n’ont aucune signification normalisée prescrite par les IFRS et peuvent donc ne pas être comparables aux mesures similaires présentées par d’autres émetteurs. La Société définit le flux de trésorerie disponible comme étant les recettes tirées des activités d’exploitation, moins les dépenses d’immobilisations et les investissements dans Aireon LLC et autres investissements connexes. La direction accorde de l’importance à cet indicateur, car il aide à mesurer l’incidence de son programme d’investissement sur les ressources financières de la Société.
  
(2)     Un solde positif dans le compte de stabilisation des tarifs représente un solde créditeur aux comptes de report réglementaires dans le bilan financier de la Société et reflète les montants qui seront remis aux clients par l’entremise de redevances futures.
 
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :
 
Michelle Bishop

Directrice, Relations gouvernementales et affaires publiques
613‑563-7520

Ron Singer
Gestionnaire national, Relations avec les médias
613‑563-7303

Ligne
d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226

 
Le présent communiqué contient certains énoncés prospectifs, lesquels sont sujets à des risques et incertitudes importants. Les résultats réels peuvent différer sensiblement des résultats indiqués dans ces énoncés prospectifs pour diverses raisons. NAV CANADA décline toute intention de mettre à jour tout énoncé prospectif.