Home > Home > Media > NR 06 2017

​NAV CANADA announces second quarter financial results​

 

(Ottawa, April 12, 2017) – NAV CANADA today released its financial results for the three and six months ended February 28, 2017. The results reflect growth in air traffic volumes as measured by weighted charging units of 3.9% over the same period in the prior fiscal year (5.1% excluding the effect of the leap year in fiscal 2016) and demonstrate the Company’s continued success in controlling costs and making strategic investments in its core services while maintaining safe and efficient air navigation.

The Company’s fiscal year runs from September 1 to August 31. In the second quarter of fiscal 2017, the Company had cash of $276 million, a negative free cash flow(1) of $46 million due to seasonally weaker air traffic but strong fi​nancial performance as evidenced by its rate stabilization account, which finished the quarter with a positive(2) balance of $179 million which is above its target balance of $101 million.

The Company’s revenue for the second quarter of fiscal 2017 was $296 million, compared to $309 million over the same period in fiscal 2016, mainly due to the lower revised service charges (7.6% on average) that became effective September 1, 2016 partially offset by a 3.9% growth in air traffic volumes.

“Even with the seasonal changes in air traffic volumes we continued to see strong air traffic growth in the second quarter, this increase is being driven primarily by the growth in trans-Atlantic air traffic volumes,” said Neil Wilson, President and CEO.

NAV CANADA continually monitors financial requirements and air traffic, and regularly updates the Company’s financial forecasts to account for changes in the economic environment. “Given the current strength of the rate stabilization account and our positive financial outlook for fiscal 2017, over the next fiscal quarter we will consider changes to our customer service charges that, if enacted, would likely be implemented in September 2017. We will be closely monitoring this situation over the next several months,” concluded Wilson. 

Operating expenses for the second quarter of fiscal 2017 were $328 million as compared to $307 million over the same period in fiscal 2016, mainly due to higher pension current service costs and higher compensation costs. The Company uses a regulatory approach to determine the net impact charged to net income (loss) for its pension costs. The objective of this approach is to expense the cost of the Company’s cash going concern and special payment contributions.  Going concern pension contributions were lower in the second quarter of fiscal 2017 and this reduction in expense was recorded as a net increase in regulatory deferrals adjustments.

Net other income and expenses for the second quarter of fiscal 2017 were an expense of $15 million as compared to an expense of $25 million over the same period in fiscal 2016, primarily due to higher positive fair value adjustments on the investment in preferred interests of Aireon LLC due to the fourth tranche investment made during the quarter and lower interest expense, partially offset by higher net interest costs related to employee benefits and higher foreign exchange losses.

The Company had a net loss (before net movement in regulatory deferral accounts including rate stabilization) of $52 million in the second quarter of fiscal 2017 as compared to a net loss of $24 million for the second quarter of fiscal 2016.

The Company is subject to legislation that regulates the level of its charges. The timing of the recognition of certain revenue and expenses recovered through charges is recorded through movements in regulatory deferral accounts. The net movement in regulatory deferral accounts for the second quarter of fiscal 2017 was income of $18 million as compared to a loss of $15 million over the same period in fiscal 2016. This change in regulatory deferrals of $33 million as compared to the same period in fiscal 2016 is due to lower deferrals of favourable results through rate stabilization adjustments of $16 million and a $17 million net increase in regulatory deferral adjustments to adjust the accounting recognition of certain transactions to the periods in which they will be considered for rate setting.

During the six months ended February 28, 2017, the Company received the remaining $285 million principal balance of Master Asset Vehicle II Class A-1 and A-2 notes ($212 million was received in the second quarter of fiscal 2017). Neil Wilson stated that “The Company participated in the restructuring of third party sponsored ABCP in Canada as a member of the Pan Canadian Investors Committee and we are gratified to see that the hard work of that committee resulted in a restructuring that occurred as anticipated”. The early partial redemption of the Company’s series MTN 2009-1 General Obligation Notes was financed out of proceeds from the ABCP investments received in the first quarter of fiscal 2017 along with surplus cash.

The Company’s Financial Statements and Management's Discussion and Analysis for the three and six months ended February 28, 2017 can be found at

NAV CANADA is the country’s private sector civil air navigation services provider. With operations from coast to coast to coast, NAV CANADA provides air traffic control, flight information, weather briefings, aeronautical information services, airport advisory services and electronic aids to navigation.

(1)     Free cash flow is a non-GAAP financial measure used by the Company to enhance the overall understanding of its financial and operating performance. Non-GAAP financial measures do not have any standardized meaning prescribed by IFRS and therefore may not be comparable to similar measures presented by other issuers. The Company defines free cash flow as cash generated from operations, less capital expenditures and investments in Aireon LLC and other subsidiaries. Management places importance on this indicator as it assists in measuring the impact of its investment program on the Company’s financial resources.

(2)     A positive balance in the rate stabilization account represents a regulatory credit balance on the Company’s statement of financial position, reflecting amounts returnable to customers through future customer service charges.​

For further information, please contact:

 
Michelle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520
 
Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations
(613) 563-7303
 
Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226

This press release contains certain forward-looking statements that are subject to important risks and uncertainties. Actual results may differ materially from the results indicated in these statements for a number of reasons. NAV CANADA disclaims any intention to update any forward-looking statements.​
​​

Home > Accueil > Média > NR 06 2017

NAV CANADA annonce ses résultats financiers pour le second trimestre

 

(Ottawa, le 12 avril 2017) – NAV CANADA a annoncé aujourd’hui ses résultats financiers pour le trimestre et le semestre clôturés le 28 février 2017. Les résultats reflètent une croissance des volumes de trafic aérien, mesurés en unités de redevance pondérées, de 3,9 % par rapport à la même période de l’exercice précédent (ou de 5,1 % si l’on exclut l’incidence de l’année bissextile sur l’exercice 2015-2016) et indiquent que la Société continue de maîtriser efficacement ses coûts et d’investir de façon stratégique dans ses services principaux tout en assurant des services de navigation aérienne sécuritaires et efficaces.

L’exercice de la Société s’échelonne du 1er septembre au 31 août. Au cours du second trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017, la Société a affiché un solde de trésorerie de 276 millions de dollars et un flux de trésorerie disponible(1) négatif de 46 millions de dollars en raison d’un trafic saisonnier moindre, mais un rendement financier solide, tel que le fait voir le compte de stabilisation des tarifs, qui a clôturé le trimestre avec un solde positif(2) de 179 millions de dollars, ce qui est supérieur à son solde cible de 101 millions de dollars.

Les produits de la Société pour le deuxième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 ont totalisé 296 millions de dollars contre 309 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2015‑2016, en raison principalement des redevances révisées réduites (de 7,6 % en moyenne) entrées en vigueur le 1er septembre 2016, qui ont neutralisé en partie la hausse de 3,9 % des volumes de trafic aérien.

« Malgré les fluctuations saisonnières des volumes de trafic, nous avons continué de constater une forte croissance du trafic au cours du deuxième trimestre. Cette hausse est attribuable principalement à la croissance des volumes de trafic aérien transatlantique », a déclaré Neil Wilson, président et chef de la direction.

La Société surveille continuellement ses exigences financière et les volumes de trafic et met à jour régulièrement ses prévisions financières pour tenir compte des changements dans la conjoncture économique. « Compte tenu de la vigueur actuelle du compte de stabilisation des tarifs et de nos perspectives financières positives pour l’exercice 2016-2017, la Société examinera au cours du prochain trimestre la possibilité d’apporter des changements à ses redevances qui seraient probablement mis en œuvre en septembre 2017 s’ils étaient adoptés. Nous suivrons cette situation de près au cours des prochains mois », a conclu M. Wilson. 

Les charges d’exploitation pour le deuxième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 se sont élevées à 328 millions de dollars comparativement à 307 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2015‑2016, en raison principalement des coûts accrus des prestations pour les services rendus au cours de l’exercice et des niveaux de rémunération supérieurs. La Société utilise une approche réglementaire pour déterminer l’incidence nette imputée aux recettes nettes (perte) pour couvrir les coûts liés aux retraites. L’objectif de cette approche est de porter comme dépense les coûts de trésorerie de la Société établis selon l’hypothèse de la continuité de l’exploitation ainsi que les cotisations effectuées à titre de paiements spéciaux. Selon l’hypothèse de la continuité de l’exploitation, les cotisations aux régimes de retraite ont été inférieures au cours du deuxième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017, et cette réduction des dépenses a été enregistrée comme une augmentation nette des ajustements aux comptes de report réglementaires.

Les autres produits et charges nets pour le deuxième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 se sont élevés à 15 millions de dollars contre 25 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice précédent, en raison principalement d’une hausse des rajustements de juste valeur positifs des placements sous forme d’actions privilégiées d’Aireon LLC découlant de la quatrième tranche du placement effectuée au cours du trimestre et des charges d’intérêts moindres, neutralisées en partie par une hausse des frais d’intérêts nets liés aux avantages sociaux des employés et aux pertes de change plus élevées.

La Société a inscrit une perte nette (avant la constatation des mouvements nets dans les comptes de report réglementaires, y compris pour la stabilisation des tarifs) de 52 millions de dollars pour le deuxième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 contre une perte nette de 24 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2015‑2016.

La Société est assujettie à une législation qui réglemente le niveau de ses redevances. Le moment de la constatation de certains produits et charges recouvrées par l’entremise des redevances est enregistré par l’application de mouvements nets dans les comptes de report réglementaires. Un bénéfice de 18 millions de dollars, contre une perte de 15 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2015-2016, a été inscrit au titre des mouvements nets constatés dans les comptes de report réglementaires pour le deuxième trimestre de l’exercice de 2016-2017. Cette variation de 33 millions de dollars dans les comptes de report réglementaires par rapport à la même période de l’exercice 2015-2016 s’explique principalement par une baisse de 16 millions de dollars des reports de résultats favorables au titre des ajustements à la stabilisation des tarifs et par une augmentation nette de 17 millions de dollars des ajustements de reports réglementaires afin d’ajuster la constatation comptable de certaines transactions aux périodes au cours desquelles elles seront prises en considération pour l’établissement des tarifs.

Au cours des six mois ayant pris fin le 28 février 2017, la Société a reçu le capital restant dû de 285 millions de dollars liés aux billets du véhicule d’actifs cadre II de catégorie A-1 et A-2 (212 millions de dollars ayant été reçus au cours du deuxième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017). D’affirmer Neil Wilson : « La Société a participé à la restructuration du papier commercial adossé à des actifs (PCAA) commandité par des tiers au Canada en tant que membre du comité pancanadien des investisseurs, et nous sommes fiers de voir que le travail soutenu du comité ont donné lieu à une restructuration qui s’est déroulée tel que prévu. » Le remboursement partiel hâtif des billets d’obligation générale de série MTN 2009‑1 de la Société a été financé à partir des produits de ses placements au titre du PCAA reçus au cours du premier trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017 et de ses liquidités excédentaires.

Les états financiers et le rapport de gestion de la Société pour le trimestre et le semestre ayant pris fin le 28 février 2017 sont disponibles aux liens suivants : 

 ​Exploitant national du système de navigation aérienne civile, NAV CANADA est une société du secteur privé qui assure à la grandeur du pays les services suivants : contrôle de la circulation aérienne, information de vol, exposés météorologiques, services d’information aéronautique, services consultatifs d’aéroport et aides électroniques à la navigation.​

(1)     Le flux de trésorerie disponible est une mesure financière qui n’est pas liée aux principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) et qu’utilise la Société pour améliorer la compréhension globale de son rendement financier et d’exploitation. Les mesures financières non liées aux PCGR n’ont aucune signification normalisée prescrite par les IFRS et peuvent donc ne pas être comparables aux mesures similaires présentées par d’autres émetteurs. La Société définit le flux de trésorerie disponible comme étant les recettes tirées des activités d’exploitation, moins les dépenses d’immobilisations et les investissements dans Aireon LLC et autres filiales. La direction accorde de l’importance à cet indicateur, car il aide à mesurer l’incidence de son programme d’investissement sur les ressources financières de la Société.

(2)     Un solde positif dans le compte de stabilisation des tarifs représente un solde créditeur aux comptes de report réglementaires dans le bilan financier de la Société et reflète les montants qui seront remis aux clients par l’entremise de redevances futures.


Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :
 
Michelle Bishop
Directrice, Relations gouvernementales et affaires publiques
613-563-7520
 
Ron Singer
Gestionnaire national, Relations avec les médias
613-563-7303
 
Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226

Le présent communiqué contient certains énoncés prospectifs, lesquels sont sujets à des risques et incertitudes importants. Les résultats réels peuvent différer sensiblement des résultats indiqués dans ces énoncés prospectifs pour diverses raisons. NAV CANADA décline toute intention de mettre à jour tout énoncé prospectif.​