Home > Home > Media > NAV CANADA President & CEO announces executive changes

NAV CANADA President & CEO announces executive changes

(Ottawa, January 13, 2016) – NAV CANADA President & CEO Neil Wilson today announced changes in his executive team, at the Company’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Ottawa. “These changes will help us to maintain our global leadership in safety and service, and to continue to build a culture based on our core values of respect, excellence and customer service – a culture in which each and all are recognized for their contribution to the Company’s success,” Wilson said.

Safety and Quality
Larry Lachance, Vice President, Operations, has been appointed to the position of Vice President, Safety and Quality, replacing John David who will retire February 1, 2016. Said Wilson: “I am thrilled with this appointment, given Larry’s experience and expertise, and the trust he has earned over many years with employees, customers and stakeholders. At the same time, I wish to thank John David for his service to NAV CANADA, especially for his leadership in safety.”

Lachance spent the early years of his career as an Air Traffic Controller, before joining management and establishing a track record of success in a variety of senior positions including General Manager, Montreal Flight Information Region (FIR); Director, Safety and System Performance; Assistant Vice President, Operational Support; and Vice President, Operations.

Operations
Rob Thurgur, Assistant Vice President, Operational Support, is appointed to the positon of Vice President, Operations, effective immediately, reporting to Rudy Kellar, Executive Vice President, Service Delivery. Thurgur has extensive experience in the Canadian Air Navigation System (ANS), recently working on important operational issues related to the success of the revolutionary Aireon project.

Following his years as an Air Traffic Controller and national union leader, Thurgur was Manager, Area Control Centre Operations (MACCO) in the Toronto FIR from 2010 to 2013, at which time he was appointed Assistant Vice President, Operational Support in Head Office. “Rob is a proven leader with a global outlook, who understands the importance of people and technology in our drive to continue leading the world in the provision of safe and efficient ANS services,” Wilson said.

Human Resources and Labour Relations
Recognizing the importance of people, two other key appointments are being made in order to consolidate and strengthen the NAV CANADA senior team in Human Resources. Raymond Bohn, Vice President, Revenue and Pension Administration, is appointed to the new position of Senior Vice President, Human Resources, and Elizabeth Cameron, Assistant Vice President, Labour and Employee Relations, is appointed Vice President, Labour Relations.

After an early and successful career as a pension and benefits consultant, Raymond Bohn joined NAV CANADA in 2000 and led a number of successful teams and projects in Human Resources. Since 2008, he has been responsible for Rates and Revenues as well as Pension Administration, while making a significant contribution to the company’s efforts to enhance pension plan sustainability.

Elizabeth Cameron joined NAV CANADA in 2004 with over 17 years of Human Resources and Labour Relations experience in the sectors of transportation, municipal government and academic institutions. As Director, Labour Relations, then as Assistant Vice President, Labour and Employee Relations, she has been instrumental in managing effective relationships with all bargaining agents, based on trust, open communication and mutual respect.

“Ray and Elizabeth know how to build and sustain constructive relationships while solving complex business problems,” Wilson said “Their leadership will be invaluable as we seek to make needed improvements to the delivery of our people programs, while building on our lengthy track record of exemplary labour and employee relations.”

In announcing these changes to HR management, Wilson acknowledged the leadership of Richard Dixon, former Vice President, Human Resources, who retired from the Company effective December 31, 2015. “I want to thank Richard for all he did during his tenure with NAV CANADA – especially for the example he set in his continued and effective focus on people.”

Pension Investments
In another area of the business, Wilson announced the appointment of Donna Mathieu, formerly Assistant Vice President, Pension Investments, to Vice President, Pension Investments, effective January 11, 2016, replacing Paul Fahey who has retired. Mathieu will report to Brian Aitken, Executive Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer.

A former partner of KPMG, Mathieu holds Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) and CPA, CA designations. She joined the Company in 2003 as Director, Internal Audit, led the Company’s IFRS transition project for one year, then transitioned to the Pension Investments Group in 2010.

Under the leadership of Paul and Donna, Wilson noted, the NAV CANADA Pension Plan (NCPP) has achieved excellent financial returns, and the investment risk of the Pension Plan’s portfolio has been reduced as the investment strategy has been adapted to the realities of today’s volatile capital markets. “I would like to thank Paul for his effective leadership in achieving these results, and I look forward to Donna and her team continuing to build on the progress made.”

There will be other changes in the NAV CANADA senior team as Wilson sets a new course for the Company. “I am confident that these appointments, and others to come, will allow NAV CANADA to build on our strengths as we strive to maintain our global leadership, while keeping the focus, at all times, on our people as the source of our success,” he said.

NAV CANADA is the country's private sector civil air navigation service provider. With operations from coast to coast to coast, NAV CANADA provides air traffic control, flight information, weather briefings, aeronautical information services, airport advisory services and electronic aids to navigation.

 For further information, please contact:

Michelle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520

Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations
(613) 563-7303


Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226

Home > Accueil > Média > Le président et chef de la direction de NAV CANADA annonce des changements à la haute direction

Le président et chef de la direction de NAV CANADA annonce des changements à la haute direction

(Ottawa, le 13 janvier 2016) – Neil Wilson, président et chef de la direction de NAV CANADA, a annoncé aujourd’hui un certain nombre de changements organisationnels au sein de l’équipe de la haute direction lors de l’assemblée générale annuelle tenue à Ottawa. De déclarer M. Wilson : « Ces changements nous aideront à maintenir notre leadership mondial en matière de sécurité et de service et à continuer d’ériger notre culture d’entreprise fondée sur nos valeurs fondamentales de respect, d’excellence et de service à la clientèle – une culture au sein de laquelle tous font l’objet d’une reconnaissance pour leur apport au succès de la Société. »

Sécurité et qualité
Larry Lachance, vice-président, Exploitation, a été nommé au poste de vice-président, Sécurité et qualité, en remplacement de John David, qui prendra sa retraite le 1er février 2016. « Je suis enthousiasmé par cette nomination compte tenu de l’expérience et du savoir-faire de M. Lachance dans ce domaine, et de la confiance qu’il a gagnée auprès des employés, des clients et des parties prenantes de la Société, a indiqué M. Wilson. Du même coup, je remercie John David pour son service dévoué envers NAV CANADA, et en particulier pour son leadership au chapitre de la sécurité. »

M. Lachance a d’abord fait carrière à titre de contrôleur de la circulation aérienne, puis a rallié les rangs de la catégorie de gestion, où il a cumulé les réussites dans divers postes de direction, dont celui de gestionnaire général, Région d’information de vol (FIR) de Montréal; de gestionnaire, Sécurité et performance du système; de vice-président adjoint, Soutien à l’exploitation; et de vice-président, Exploitation.

Exploitation
Rob Thurgur, vice-président adjoint, Soutien à l’exploitation, assume le poste de vice-président, Exploitation, à compter d’aujourd’hui, et relèvera de Rudy Kellar, vice-président directeur, Prestation des services. M. Thurgur possède une expérience considérable du système de navigation aérienne, et a récemment travaillé à d’importantes questions opérationnelles visant à mener à bien le projet révolutionnaire Aireon.

M. Thurgur a démarré sa carrière à titre de contrôleur de la circulation aérienne et de dirigeant syndical national. Puis, de 2010 à 2013, il a occupé le poste de gestionnaire, Exploitation du centre de contrôle régional (MACCO), dans la FIR de Toronto et a ensuite été nommé au poste de vice-président adjoint, Soutien à l’exploitation, au Siège social. « M. Thurgur est un leader chevronné avec une vision globale et comprend l’importance que revêtent nos employés et la technologie dans nos efforts afin de maintenir notre position de chef de file mondial dans la prestation de services de navigation aérienne sécuritaires et efficaces », de préciser M. Wilson.

Ressources humaines et relations de travail
Reconnaissant l’importance des employés, deux autres nominations clés sont faites afin de consolider et de renforcer l’équipe de la haute direction des Ressources humaines à NAV CANADA. Raymond Bohn, vice-président, Recettes et administration des pensions, est nommé au nouveau poste de vice-président principal, Ressources humaines, et Elizabeth Cameron, vice-présidente adjointe, Relations de travail et avec les employés, est nommée au poste de vice-présidente, Relations de travail.

Après avoir mené une carrière fructueuse à titre d’expert-conseil dans le domaine des pensions et des avantages sociaux, M. Bohn a rallié les rangs de NAV CANADA en 2000 et a dirigé plusieurs équipes et projets de Ressources humaines qui ont remporté un vif succès. Depuis 2008, M. Bohn était responsable des fonctions Tarifs et recettes et Administration des pensions, tout en apportant une contribution importante au travail de la Société afin d’améliorer la viabilité du Régime de retraite de la Société.

Elizabeth Cameron est entrée en fonction à NAV CANADA en 2004 avec plus de 17 ans d’expérience en ressources humaines et en relations de travail dans les secteurs des transports, de l’administration municipale et des établissements d’enseignement. À titre de directrice, Relations de travail, puis à titre de vice-présidente adjointe, Relations de travail et avec les employés, Mme Cameron a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la gestion de relations efficaces avec les agents de négociation basées sur la confiance, les communications ouvertes et le respect mutuel.

« M. Bohn et Mme Cameron ont démontré à la fois leur capacité d’établir et de maintenir des relations constructives et productives et de résoudre des problèmes d’affaires complexes, a expliqué M. Wilson. Leur leadership sera un atout précieux dans les efforts de la Société afin d’améliorer ses programmes de ressources humaines, tout en misant sur son imposant bilan en matière de relations exemplaires de travail et avec les employés. »

En annonçant ces changements dans la direction des Ressources humaines, M. Wilson a souligné le leadership de Richard Dixon, vice-président sortant, Ressources humaines, qui a pris sa retraite le 31 décembre 2015. « J’aimerais remercier M. Dixon pour son apport considérable au cours de son mandat au sein de NAV CANADA et en particulier pour l’exemple qu’il a donné par son orientation soutenue et efficace sur les personnes. »

Placement des fonds de pension
Dans un autre secteur d’activité, M. Wilson a annoncé la nomination de Donna Mathieu, auparavant vice-présidente adjointe, Placement des fonds de pension, au poste de vice-présidente, Placement des fonds de pension, à compter du 11 janvier 2016. Mme Mathieu remplacera Paul Fahey, qui a pris sa retraite, et relèvera de Brian Aitken, vice-président directeur, Finances et chef de la direction financière.

Anciennement partenaire chez KPMG, Mme Mathieu est titulaire des désignations d’analyste financier agréé (CFA), de comptable professionnel agréé (CPA) et de comptable agréé (CA). Mme Mathieu est entrée à la Société en 2003 à titre de directrice, Vérification interne, a dirigé pendant un an le projet de transition aux IFRS, pour rallier ensuite le groupe Placements des fonds de pension en 2010.

« Sous le leadership de M. Fahey et de Mme Mathieu, a ajouté M. Wilson, les placements du Régime de retraite de NAV CANADA ont obtenu un excellent rendement financier et le risque d’investissement du portefeuille de placement du Régime a été diminué à mesure que la stratégie d’investissement s’adaptait aux réalités des marchés de capitaux volatils actuels. J’aimerais remercier M. Fahey pour sa direction efficace qui a permis l’atteinte de ces résultats, et je compte sur Mme Mathieu et sur son équipe pour continuer à bâtir sur les progrès réalisés à ce jour. »

D’autres changements seront apportés à l’équipe de la haute direction de NAV CANADA à mesure que Neil Wilson tracera une nouvelle voie pour la Société. « J’ai pleinement confiance que ces nominations, ainsi que les autres à venir, nous permettront de consolider nos forces dans nos efforts pour maintenir notre leadership mondial, et mettant l’accent en tout temps sur nos employés, la source indéniable de notre réussite. »

Exploitant national du système de navigation aérienne civile, NAV CANADA est une société du secteur privé qui assure à la grandeur du pays les services suivants : contrôle de la circulation aérienne, information de vol, exposés météorologiques, services d’information aéronautique, services consultatifs d’aéroport et aides électroniques à la navigation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michelle Bishop
Directrice, Relations gouvernementales et affaires publiques
613-563-7520

Ron Singer
Gestionnaire national, Relations avec les médias
613-563-7303

Ligne d’information des médias : 1-888-562-8226