Home > Home > Media > NR 02 2018

NAV CANADA announces first quarter financial results

 
(Ottawa, January 11, 2018) – NAV CANADA today released its financial results for the three months ended November 30, 2017.

The Company’s fiscal year runs from September 1 to August 31. In the first quarter of fiscal 2018, the Company experienced negative free cash flow(1) of $20 million primarily due to settlements to curtail severance benefits and increased capital spending ending the quarter with cash of $227 million. Financial performance as evidenced by its positive(2) rate stabilization account balance of $128 million was in line with expected results including the customer service charge revisions implemented September 1, 2017 and reflected a planned reduction of $3 million from August 31, 2017.

The Company’s revenue for the first quarter of fiscal 2018 was $347 million, compared to $332 million over the same period in fiscal 2017, mainly due a 5.6 per cent growth in air traffic volumes offset by the implemented reduction in service charges.

We saw strong air traffic growth continuing into the first quarter of fiscal 2018,” said Neil Wilson President & CEO, “which has allowed us to carry on with our planned investments in our technology, facilities and in our people. These investments will benefit our customers by allowing us to maintain and improve the safety and efficiency of air navigation in Canada.” 

Operating expenses for the first quarter of fiscal 2018 were $340 million as compared to $321 million over the same period in fiscal 2017, mainly due to higher compensation costs.

Net other income and expenses for the first quarter of fiscal 2018 was a net expense of $18 million as compared to a net expense of $22 million over the same period in fiscal 2017, primarily due to lower interest expense on long-term debt partially offset by lower positive fair value adjustments. 

The Company had a net loss (before net movement in regulatory deferral accounts including rate stabilization) of $11 million in the first quarter of fiscal 2018 as compared to a net loss of $12 million for the first quarter of fiscal 2017. 

The Company is subject to legislation that regulates its approach to setting charges. The timing of the recognition of certain revenue and expenses recovered through charges is recorded through movements in regulatory deferral accounts. The net movement in regulatory deferral accounts for the first quarter of fiscal 2018 was income of $14 million as compared to income of $12 million over the same period in fiscal 2017. This change in regulatory deferrals of $2 million as compared to the same period in fiscal 2017 is due to lower favourable results deferred through rate stabilization adjustments of $10 million and a $8 million net increase in regulatory deferral adjustments to adjust the accounting recognition of certain transactions to the periods in which they will be considered for rate setting.

The Company’s Financial Statements and Management's Discussion and Analysis for the three months ended November 30, 2017 can be found at:
 
 

About NAV CANADA
NAV CANADA is a private, not-for-profit company, established in 1996, providing air traffic control, airport advisory services, weather briefings and aeronautical information services for more than 18 million square kilometres of Canadian domestic and international airspace.

The Company is internationally recognized for its safety record, and technology innovation. Air traffic management systems developed by NAV CANADA are used by air navigation service providers in countries worldwide.

We are a founding partner of Aireon LLC, an international joint venture deploying a space based Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) system that will expand air traffic surveillance to all regions of the globe.

(1)     Free cash flow is a non-GAAP financial measure used by the Company to enhance the overall understanding of its financial and operating performance. Non-GAAP financial measures do not have any standardized meaning prescribed by IFRS and therefore may not be comparable to similar measures presented by other issuers. The Company defines free cash flow as cash generated from operations, less capital expenditures and investments in Aireon LLC and equity related investments. Management places importance on this indicator as it assists in measuring the impact of its investment program on the Company’s financial resources.
 
(2)     A positive balance in the rate stabilization account represents a regulatory credit balance on the Company’s statement of financial position, reflecting amounts returnable to customers through future customer service charges.

 

 For further information, please contact:

Miche
lle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520

Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations
(613) 563-7303

Medi
a Information Line: 1-888-562-8226 

 
This press release contains certain forward-looking statements that are subject to important risks and uncertainties. Actual results may differ materially from the results indicated in these statements for a number of reasons. NAV CANADA disclaims any intention to update any forward-looking statements.
​​

Home > Accueil > Média > NR 02 2018

NAV CANADA annonce ses résultats financiers pour le premier trimestre​

 

​(Ottawa, le 11 janvier 2018) – NAV CANADA a annoncé aujourd’hui ses résultats financiers pour le trimestre clôturé le 30 novembre 2017.

L’exercice de la Société s’échelonne du 1er septembre au 31 août. Au cours du premier trimestre de l’exercice 2017-2018, la Société a enregistré un flux de trésorerie disponible(1) négatif de 20 millions de dollars, principalement en raison des règlements pour la compression d’indemnités de départ et de l’augmentation des dépenses en immobilisations, clôturant le trimestre avec un solde de trésorerie de 227 millions de dollars. Le rendement financier, comme l’a démontré le solde positif(2) du compte de stabilisation des tarifs de 128 millions de dollars, était en harmonie avec les résultats attendus, notamment au vu de la révision des redevances mise en œuvre le 1er septembre 2017, et a reflété une réduction prévue de 3 millions de dollars au 31 août 2017.

Les produits de la Société pour le premier trimestre de l’exercice 2017-2018 ont totalisé 347 millions de dollars, comparativement à 332 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2016-2017, grâce à la croissance de 5,6 % des volumes de trafic aérien, contrebalancée en partie par la réduction des redevances.

« Nous avons observé une forte croissance du trafic aérien qui se poursuit au premier trimestre de l’exercice 2017-2018, a affirmé Neil Wilson, président et chef de la direction, ce qui nous a permis d’aller de l’avant avec les investissements prévus pour nos technologies, nos aménagements et notre effectif. Ces investissements profiteront à nos clients en nous permettant de maintenir et d’améliorer la sécurité ainsi que l’efficacité de la navigation aérienne au Canada. »

Les charges d’exploitation pour le premier trimestre de l’exercice 2017-2018 se sont élevées à 340 millions de dollars, comparativement à 321 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2016-2017, en raison principalement des coûts de rémunération supérieurs.

Les autres produits et charges nets pour le premier trimestre de l’exercice 2017-2018 se sont élevés à 18 millions de dollars contre 22 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice précédent, en raison principalement de charges d’intérêts moindres sur la dette à long terme, ce qui a en partie été contrebalancé par de plus faibles rajustements de juste valeur positifs.

L
a Société a inscrit une perte nette (avant la constatation des mouvements nets dans les comptes de report réglementaires, y compris pour la stabilisation des tarifs) de 11 millions de dollars pour le premier trimestre de l’exercice 2017-2018 contre une perte nette de 12 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2016-2017.

La Société est assujettie à une législation qui réglemente sa manière d’établir les redevances. Le moment de la constatation de certains produits et charges recouvrées au moyen des redevances est enregistré par l’application de mouvements nets dans les comptes de report réglementaires. Un bénéfice de 14 millions de dollars, contre un bénéfice de 12 millions de dollars pour la même période de l’exercice 2016-2017, a été inscrit au titre des mouvements nets constatés dans les comptes de report réglementaires pour le premier trimestre de l’exercice 2017-2018. Cette variation de 2 millions de dollars dans les comptes de report réglementaires par rapport à la même période de l’exercice 2016-2017 s’explique principalement par une baisse de 10 millions de dollars des reports de résultats favorables au titre des ajustements à la stabilisation des tarifs et par une augmentation nette de 8 millions de dollars des ajustements de reports réglementaires afin d’ajuster la constatation comptable de certaines transactions aux périodes au cours desquelles elles seront prises en considération pour l’établissement des tarifs.

Les états financiers et le rapport de gestion de la Société pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 novembre 2017 sont disponibles aux liens suivants :​
 

 À propos de NAV CANADA
NAV CANADA est une société privée sans but lucratif, créée en 1996, qui fournit des services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, des services consultatifs d’aéroport, des exposés météorologiques ainsi que des services d’information aéronautique dans plus de 18 millions de kilomètres carrés d’espace aérien intérieur et d’espace aérien international sous contrôle canadien.

La Société est reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour son dossier de sécurité et ses innovations technologiques. Les systèmes de gestion de la circulation aérienne élaborés par NAV CANADA sont utilisés par des fournisseurs de services de navigation aérienne partout dans le monde.

NAV CANADA est un partenaire fondateur d’Aireon LLC, une coentreprise internationale qui vise à étendre la couverture de surveillance de la circulation aérienne à la planète toute entière grâce à un système de surveillance dépendante automatique en mode diffusion (ADS-B) satellitaire.

(1) Le flux de trésorerie disponible est une mesure financière qui n’est pas liée aux principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) et qu’utilise la Société pour améliorer la compréhension globale de son rendement financier et d’exploitation. Les mesures financières non liées aux PCGR n’ont aucune signification normalisée prescrite par les IFRS et peuvent donc ne pas être comparables aux mesures similaires présentées par d’autres émetteurs. La Société définit le flux de trésorerie disponible comme étant les recettes tirées des activités d’exploitation, moins les dépenses d’immobilisations et les investissements dans Aireon LLC et autres investissements connexes. La direction accorde de l’importance à cet indicateur, car il aide à mesurer l’incidence de son programme d’investissement sur les ressources financières de la Société. 

(2) Un solde positif dans le compte de stabilisation des tarifs représente un solde créditeur aux comptes de report réglementaires dans le bilan financier de la Société et reflète les montants qui seront remis aux clients au moyen de redevances futures.

 For further information, please contact:

Michelle Bishop
Director, Government and Public Affairs
(613) 563-7520

Ron Singer
National Manager, Media Relations
(613) 563-7303

Media Information Line: 1-888-562-8226
 

Le présent communiqué contient certains énoncés prospectifs, lesquels sont sujets à des risques et incertitudes importants. Les résultats réels peuvent différer sensiblement des résultats indiqués dans ces énoncés prospectifs pour diverses raisons. NAV CANADA décline toute intention de mettre à jour tout énoncé prospectif.​
​​​​​​​