Life Insurance

HomeHomeCareersBenefitsManagement EmployeeLife Insurance

Supplemental Life Insurance


If you have this coverage, in the event of your death from any cause, your beneficiary would receive benefits equal to your adjusted insurable earnings, rounded to the nearest multiple of $1,000 (two times adjusted insurable earnings for Senior Managers).

Coverage begins reducing by 10% (of your full coverage in effect on your 61st birthday) each year, on the first of the month following your birthday starting at age 61 (no reduction applies for Senior and Middle Managers). The minimum coverage while employed is 10% of your adjusted insurable earnings.

​Example
​Annual earnings at age 60 $89,400​
​Coverage at age 60 ​$89,000
​10% of coverage in effect at age 61 ​$8,900
​If no change in earnings:
​Coverage effective April 1 after the 61st birthday ​$89,000 - $8,900 = $80,100
Coverage effective April 1 after the 62nd birthday ​$80,100 - $8,900 = $71,200
​Coverage effective April 1 after the 63rd birthday $71,200 - $8,900 = $62,300

Benefits are not taxable when paid to the beneficiary you name (any interest paid between the date of death and the date of payment is taxable). However, if your estate receives life insurance benefits, they may be subject to probate fees, since they may be considered assets.

You must enrol in Supplemental Life Insurance to apply for Optional Life Insurance, Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance and Dependent Insurance.

Published on February 01, 2016

Assurance-vie

HomeAccueilCarrièresAvantages SociauxEmployé de la catégorie de gestionAssurance-vie

Assurance-vie complémentaire


 
Si vous bénéficiez de cette protection et que vous décédez pour une raison quelconque, votre bénéficiaire recevra une prestation égale à votre revenu assurable rajusté (deux fois votre revenu assurable rajusté pour les cadres supérieurs), arrondi au multiple de 1 000 $ le plus près.

Votre protection est réduite de 10 % de la protection totale en effet à votre 61e anniversaire de naissance à compter du premier du mois suivant votre 61e anniversaire et chaque année par la suite, jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit ramenée au montant minimum de 10 % de votre revenu assurable rajusté (aucune réduction ne s’applique aux cadres supérieurs ni intermédiaires).

​Exemple
Revenu annuel à 60 ans 89 400 $​
Protection à 60 ans 89 000 $
​10 % de la protection totale en vigueur à l'âge de 61 ans 8 900 $
S'il n'a pas de changement de revenu :
Protection à compter du 1er avril suivant le 61e anniversaire de naissance ​89 000 $ - 8 900 $ = 80 100 $
Protection à compter du 1er avril suivant le 62e anniversaire de naissance ​80 100 $ - 8 900 $ = 71 200 $
Protection à compter du 1er avril suivant le 63e anniversaire de naissance 71 200 $ - 8 900 $ = 62 300 $
 
Les prestations ne sont pas imposables quand elles sont versées au bénéficiaire que vous avez désigné (les intérêts versés entre la date du décès et la date du paiement le sont). Toutefois, si elles sont payées à votre succession, des frais d’homologation pourraient s’appliquer, car elles sont considérées comme un bien.
 

Vous devez souscrire l’assurance-vie complémentaire pour contracter les autres assurances (Assurance-vie facultative, Assurance-vie pour personnes à charge et Assurance mort ou mutilation accidentelles).

Publié le 01 février 2016