Illness and Injury

HomeHomeCareersBenefitsManagement EmployeeIllness and Injury

Making a Claim


Long Term Disability Insurance

If you become totally disabled and think your disability will last longer than the elimination period, you should claim as soon as possible.  Contact your Management Payroll Advisor for assistance. They will provide you with the forms you and your physician(s) must complete.

It is your responsibility to complete the Plan Member's Statement and arrange for your physician(s) to complete the Attending Physician's Statement with medical evidence supporting the diagnosis, and the prognosis. Any associated costs for completing these forms are your responsibility. Sun Life Financial adjudicates claims on the basis of all the objective medical evidence provided on your condition. Sun Life Financial may request additional information from your physician(s), or arrange for independent medical examinations.

Make sure to provide Sun Life Financial with sufficient medical proof of total disability. Omissions or unclear statements could delay your claim.

Send the completed forms directly to Sun Life Financial. To avoid delays, Sun Life Financial needs all information no later than 8 weeks prior to the completion of the elimination period.


Critical Illness Insurance

If you, your spouse and/or your child(ren) are covered under the Critical Illness Insurance Plan and have been diagnosed with one of the covered conditions you should contact a Sun Life Representative by calling 1-866-539-7678. Sun Life will advise you of the documents required by your physician to process the claim.
 
Benefits are not taxable when paid to the insured member.

Dependent Insurance

In the event you, your spouse or one of your children is injured, you must notify the Benefits Advisor at (613) 563-3853. They will send out the necessary forms and information.

Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance

In the event you, your spouse or one of your children is injured, you must notify the Benefits Advisor at (613) 563-3853. They will send out the necessary forms and information.


Business Travel Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance

For all expenses under Business Travel Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, contact ACE INA at 1-877-772-7797, leave a detailed message and a claims agent will return your call by the next business day.
 
Published on February 01, 2016

Maladies et blessures

HomeAccueilCarrièresAvantages SociauxEmployé de la catégorie de gestionMaladies et blessures

Demande de règlement


Assurance-invalidité de longue durée

Si vous devenez complètement invalide et que vous croyez que votre invalidité durera plus longtemps que le délai de carence, vous devriez présenter une demande de prestations le plus vite possible. Communiquez avec votre conseiller, Paye de la gestion, pour obtenir de l'aide. Il vous fournira les formulaires que vous et votre (vos) médecin(s) devez remplir.

Il vous revient de remplir la Déclaration du participant et de faire remplir la Déclaration du médecin traitant par votre (vos) médecin(s) qui indiquera les données médicales à l’appui de son diagnostic et de son pronostic. Vous devez assumer tous les coûts exigés pour remplir ces formulaires. La Financière Sun Life examine les demandes à la lumière de toutes les données médicales objectives fournies sur votre état. La Financière Sun Life peut demander d’autres renseignements à votre (vos) médecin(s) ou exiger que vous subissiez des examens médicaux indépendants.

Assurez-vous de fournir à la Financière Sun Life des renseignements médicaux complets attestant votre invalidité totale. Les omissions ou les ambiguïtés risquent de retarder le versement des prestations.

Envoyez les formulaires dûment remplis directement à la Financière Sun Life. Pour éviter les délais, la Financière Sun Life a besoin de recevoir toute l’information au plus tard huit (8) semaines avant la fin du délai de carence.


Assurance contre les maladies graves

Si vous, votre conjoint et (ou) vos enfants bénéficiez d’une couverture au titre de l’assurance contre les maladies graves et que vous êtes atteint de l’un des troubles admissibles, veuillez communiquer avec un représentant de la Financière Sun Life au 1-866-539-7678. Le représentant vous indiquera quels documents vous devrez obtenir de votre médecin pour effectuer une demande de remboursement.
 
Les prestations ne sont pas imposables quand elles sont versées au membre assuré

Assurance-vie pour personnes à charge

Si vous-même, votre conjoint ou l’un de vos enfants êtes blessé, vous devez en informer le conseiller, Avantages sociaux, au 613-563-3853. Cette personne lui fera parvenir les formulaires et l’information nécessaires.

Assurance mort ou mutilation accidentelles

Si vous-même, votre conjoint ou l’un de vos enfants êtes blessé, vous devez en informer le conseiller, Avantages sociaux, au 613-563-3853. Cette personne lui fera parvenir les formulaires et l’information nécessaires.

Assurance mort ou mutilation accidentelles en voyage d’affaires

Pour tous les frais engagés en vertu de l’assurance mort ou mutilation accidentelles en voyage d’affaires, communiquez avec ACE INA au 1-877-772-7797 et laissez un message détaillé. Un agent gestionnaire de sinistres vous rappellera dans les 24 heures ouvrables.
 
Publié le 01 février 2016