Home > Home > About Us > AA FIS

Our Services

Airport Advisory and Flight Information Services

At some airports with a lower density of traffic, pilots are responsible for maintaining a safe distance from other aircraft and control services are not provided.

Airport advisory services may be provided in these areas from Flight Service Specialists working in our Flight Service Stations. The services they provide include local weather information and airport advisory services (information on traffic in the area, runway conditions, wind and altimeter and other information required by pilots), vehicle control and emergency assistance.

Flight Service Stations extend communications capabilities using remote transmitters/receivers. When a remote communications outlet (RCO) is used to provide airport advisory services at a remote aerodrome it is referred to as a Remote Aerodrome Advisory Service (RAAS).

NAV CANADA also has Flight Information Centres (FIC) in Halifax, Quebec City, London, North Bay, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Whitehorse and Kamloops. Flight Service Specialists working at our FICs are trained to interpret meteorological information and use this information to provide in-depth interpretive weather briefings and en route advisories to pilots operating anywhere in Canadian airspace. They are also responsible for providing timely reports on missing or overdue flights.

In parts of Yukon, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Northern Quebec, services are delivered with the help of Community Aerodrome Radio Stations (CARS), which provide aviation weather and communications services at their local airport.

For information on a career in Air Traffic Services, visit our Take Charge career website.

Home > Accueil > À propos de nous > Services consultatifs d'aéroport et services d'information de vol

Nos services

Service consultatif d’aéroport et services d’information de vol

Dans les zones où le trafic est moins dense, il incombe aux pilotes de maintenir un espacement adéquat par rapport aux autres aéronefs, et aucun service de contrôle n’est fourni.

Les spécialistes de l’information de vol peuvent desservir ces zones à partir de nos stations d’information de vol (FSS). Parmi les services qu'ils assurent, citons la fourniture de renseignements météorologiques locaux et le service consultatif d’aéroport (renseignements sur le trafic local, données sur le vent et le calage altimétrique et toute autre information requise des pilotes), le contrôle des véhicules et l'aide en cas d'urgence.

Les FSS utilisent les émetteurs-récepteurs des installations radio télécommandées (RCO) pour étendre les capacités de communications. L’utilisation d’une RCO pour fournir le service consultatif à un aérodrome éloigné est appelée le Service consultatif télécommandé d’aérodrome (RAAS).

NAV CANADA gère également des centres d’information de vol (FIC) à Halifax, à Québec, à London, à North Bay, à Winnipeg, à Edmonton, à Whitehorse et à Kamloops. Le personnel des FIC est formé pour interpréter les données météorologiques et se servir de ces données pour présenter des exposés météorologiques et des services consultatifs en route approfondis aux pilotes évoluant dans l’espace aérien canadien. Le personnel des FIC doit également fournir des rapports en temps opportun sur les aéronefs en retard ou portés disparus.

Au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Nunavut et dans le Nord du Québec, les services d’information de vol sont fournis en collaboration avec les stations radio d’aérodrome communautaire (CARS) qui offrent des services de communication et de météorologie à l’aviation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les carrières dans les services de circulation aérienne, consultez notre site Web Prenez le contrôle.