Home > Home > About Us > Leigh Ann Kirby

​Leigh Ann Kirby

As Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary Ms. Kirby is responsible for all legal and corporate service functions at NAV CANADA.

With an extensive career as an Executive Legal Counsel, Ms. Kirby joined NAV CANADA in 2016 after ten years at the senior levels with MBNA Canada Bank (MBNA) and The Toronto-Dominion Bank (TD Bank).  She was most recently Associate Vice President – Legal at TD Bank where she acted as a senior advisor to executive management to meet legal and regulatory obligations, and provided support to the retail, marketing and credit card businesses. Prior to that, Ms. Kirby held the position of Chief Legal Counsel for MBNA.

Early in her career, at a two leading law firms, Ms. Kirby developed a strong track record in civil litigation with a focus on corporate and commercial disputes, bankruptcy and insolvency as well as debtor/creditor and insurance matters.

Ms. Kirby holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Economics and Politics from Queen’s University and a Bachelor of Laws degree (LL.B.) from the University of Windsor. She is a member of the Canadian Bar Association and the Law Society of Upper Canada. 

Ms. Kirby is the mother of two teenage daughters, Sarah and Maggie.​

Home > Accueil > À propos de nous > Leigh Ann Kirby

​Leigh Ann Kirby 

En tant que vice-présidente, avocate en chef et secrétaire générale,
Mme Kirby est responsable de toutes les fonctions des Services juridiques et généraux à NAV CANADA.

Mme Kirby a joint les rangs de NAV CANADA en 2016 après avoir fait carrière pendant de nombreuses années dans des fonctions d’avocate-conseil principale, notamment auprès de la Banque MBNA Canada (MBNA) et de la Banque Toronto-Dominion (Banque TD). Plus récemment, elle a occupé le poste de vice-présidente associée, Affaires juridiques, à la banque Toronto-Dominion, où elle agissait à titre de conseillère principale auprès de la haute direction afin d’assurer le respect des obligations légales et réglementaires, en plus de fournir un soutien aux divisions du détail, du marketing et des cartes de crédit. Auparavant, Mme Kirby a assumé les fonctions d’avocate-conseil en chef pour le compte de la MBNA.

Au début de sa carrière, Mme Kirby a fait ses preuves au sein de deux cabinets d’avocats de renom au sein du contentieux des affaires civiles, notamment dans les domaines des litiges corporatifs et commerciaux, de la faillite et de l’insolvabilité, ainsi que des enjeux liés aux débiteurs/créanciers et aux assurances.

Mme Kirby est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation en économie et en politique de l’université Queen’s et d’un baccalauréat en droit (LL.B.) de l’université Windsor. Elle est membre de l’Association du Barreau canadien et du Barreau du Haut-Canada. 

Mme Kirby est la mère de Sarah and Maggie, toutes deux adolescentes.​



​​​