Home > Home > About Us > Claudio Silvestri

Claudio Silvestri

Vice President and Chief Information Officer

As Vice-President and Chief Information Officer, Claudio Silvestri is responsible for providing executive leadership, direction and oversight of the Information Management (IM) function for the Corporation.  This function continues to play an increasingly important role in driving productivity improvements and enabling business capabilities to more effectively manage the business operations of NAV CANADA.

Mr. Silvestri has an extensive background in the high-tech industry and diverse experience developing and implementing strategic initiatives to increase the effectiveness and contribution of information technology within a variety of organizations. At NAV CANADA, Mr. Silvestri oversees all information Technology functional services, business applications, infrastructure and data communications networks, as well as information technology security and IT governance.

Prior to joining NAV CANADA, Mr. Silvestri was the Vice President and CIO at Cognos Inc. where he was responsible for world-wide IT services. He was also the Group Vice President and CIO for Business Objectives/Crystal Decisions with global responsibilities, and he led the IT systems integration as part of the Crystal Decisions acquisition.  Prior to 2003, Mr. Silvestri held senior executive business and IT roles at Microsoft Canada and Compaq Canada.

Additionally, Mr. Silvestri serves on the Ottawa Hospital Board of Governors and is the President and Chair of Christie Lake Kids which is a local Not-for-Profit organization serving disadvantaged youth in the Capital region with all year programming to develop physical, social and character skills.  In 2017 Mr. Silvestri was awarded the CIO of The Year by the Information Technology Association of Canada in the Public / Non-Profit category recognizing his leadership leading NAV CANADA’s digital, cloud and mobile technology transformation. ​

Home > Accueil > À propos de nous > Claudio Silvestri

Claudio Silvestri

Vice-président et chef de la direction de l’information

En tant que vice-président et chef de la direction de l’information, Claudio Silvestri chargé d’assurer le leadership de haute direction, l’orientation et la supervision de la fonction de Gestion de l’information (GI) de la Société. Cette fonction joue un rôle de plus en plus important pour ce qui est de dynamiser les améliorations de productivité et de concrétiser les capacités d’affaires permettant de gérer plus efficacement les opérations
de NAV CANADA.

M. Silvestri possède de vastes antécédents dans l’industrie de la haute technologie et une expérience diversifiée dans l’élaboration et l’exécution de projets stratégiques visant à accroître l’efficacité et la contribution des technologies de l’information (TI) dans une organisation. À NAV CANADA, M. Silvestri supervise l’ensemble des services fonctionnels de TI, des applications d’affaires, de l’infrastructure et des réseaux de communication de données, de même que la sécurité et la gouvernance des TI. 

Avant de joindre les rangs de la Société, M. Silvestri était vice-président et chef de la direction de l’information chez Cognos Inc., où il était responsable de la prestation de services de TI à l’échelle mondiale. Il a également assumé le poste de vice-président de groupe et chef de la direction de l’information pour le compte de Business Objectives/Crystal Decisions, où il a assumé des responsabilités mondiales et a dirigé l’intégration des systèmes de TI dans le cadre de l’acquisition de  Crystal Decisions. Avant 2003, M. Silvestri a occupé des postes de haute direction dans  les domaines de l’administration des affaires et des TI au sein de Microsoft Canada et de Compaq Canada.

De plus, M. Silvestri siège au Conseil des gouverneurs de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa et est président et chef de la direction de Christie Lake Kids, un organisme local sans but lucratif qui vient en aide aux jeunes  défavorisés dans la région de la capitale nationale par l’intermédiaire d’un programme continu visant à développer leurs compétences physiques et sociales ainsi que leur caractère. En 2017, M. Silvestri a été nommé chef de la direction de l’information (CDI) de l’année par l’Association canadienne de la technologie de l’information dans la catégorie organisme public/sans but lucratif, en reconnaissance de son leadership dans la transformation de la technologie numérique, infonuagique et mobile de NAV CANADA. ​