Home > Home > About Us > CYOW FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is it necessary to redesign the routes?

 

The deployment of Performance Based Navigation (PBN) technologies, of which RNP is a part, has been encouraged by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). ICAO took steps in 2007 to require its member countries to develop formal plans for the deployment of PBN in their respective jurisdictions. NAV CANADA Performance-Based Navigation Operations Plan (2014) and the Transport Canada PBN State Plan identifies the goal of achieving a total PBN environment in Canada with Area Navigation (RNAV) and/or RNP for all operations.

 

Performance-Based Navigation (PBN) procedures are also an important part of the toolkit being used by NAV CANADA to reduce the industry’s impact on the environment, through the reduction of greenhouse gases (GHGs), as committed in Canada’s Action Plan to Reduce Greenhouse Gases from Aviation.

 

While RNP and other forms of PBN are in use at the Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport today, improved approaches ‒ that can be utilized by more aircraft operators ‒ are being developed.

 

RNP is the most reliable way to achieve Continuous Descent Approaches (CDA). CDA are the quietest and most fuel efficient type of approach. CDA reduce noise associated with level segments that require the use of increased throttle and flaps.

 

What is RNP?

 

Learn more about Required Navigation Procedures (RNP) by viewing The Basics of RNP.

 

What is a standard arrival route, or STAR?

 

A Standard Terminal Arrival Route, or STAR, is an arrival procedure used to direct aircraft as they land at an airport. STAR procedures can be programmed into an aircraft’s navigation computers to prepare the aircraft to fly the route as efficiently as possible.

 

STARs help organize frequently-used air traffic controller instructions into an established set of procedures for traffic transiting from their enroute portion of flight onto the final approach path to a runway. STARs represent commonly flown flight paths. They are a means of reducing workload and the need for significant back and forth communication between air traffic controllers and pilots.


These procedures are published in the Canada Air Pilot (CAP) for pilot and controller use.

 

What are the benefits of the proposed changes?

 

RNP is the most reliable way to achieve Continuous Descent Approaches (CDA). CDA are the quietest and most fuel efficient type of approach. CDA reduce fuel consumption and noise associated with level segments.

 

RNP also allows aircraft to employ a shorter route, resulting in shorter flight times, of up to two minutes per flight. The cumulative impact of those savings can be significant. The changes planned for the airspace surrounding Ottawa are expected to reduce GHG emissions by more than 750 metric tonnes and reduce aircraft fossil fuel consumption by 300,000 litres per year.

 

RNP allows for the design of highly precise routes. Where possible, these routes were designed to avoid residential communities.

 

Because of its predictability, RNP also reduces the requirement for frequent voice communications between pilots and air traffic controllers. The result is more time for pilots to concentrate on other important tasks at a phase of flight where the workload is heavy.

 

What specifically is happening to the routes in my area?

 

New arrival routes are being proposed for runways 07, 14, 25 and 32. There are no changes to departures, or any changes to operations related to runways 04 and 22 being proposed. For a specific description of the planned changes surrounding the airport in your community, view the runway specific information available on this website.

 

Do aircraft only fly on RNP/RNAV approaches?

 

The existence of a published RNP or RNAV approach does not mean that is the only route an aircraft will follow or that something is wrong if aircraft are observed in other locations. Air traffic controllers may direct pilots to operate off the approach for a variety of reasons related to the safety and efficiency of operations.

 

At times, traffic situations make it possible to shorten an aircraft’s flight path and reduce the time it takes to get on the ground. It is also common for aircraft to be directed off a procedure to organize multiple aircraft on approach to an airport to ensure that they do so efficiently and at a safe distance from one another.

 

It is estimated that less than 25 per cent of aircraft will be equipped to use RNP.

 

What are airport noise abatement procedures?


Generally noise abatement procedures, which are developed by airport authorities and approved by Transport Canada, are rules that can govern such things as the choice of runway, approach and departure paths or restrictions on times of use of the airport. Published noise abatement procedures are enforceable by Transport Canada and violators can be subject to fines. In the redesign of routes, NAV CANADA respects all noise abatement procedures in place at an airport.

 

How is noise regulated?

 

Aircraft noise is regulated in two principal ways in Canada:

 

Noise operating restrictions or noise abatement procedures at airports.

 

Airport authorities determine what noise abatement procedures should be used at a specific airport in order to mitigate the impact of aircraft operations on neighbouring communities. Abatement procedures are approved by Transport Canada and are official when they are published in the Canada Air Pilot. Once published they are enforceable and violators can be subject to enforcement actions, including fines.

 

Noise at the source (i.e. the aircraft).

 

Canada is a member state of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), and adopts aircraft noise and emission certification standards prescribed by ICAO. These standards require noise measurements to be taken at the time of aircraft certification. Depending on the measurement results, the aircraft is categorized as either Chapter 2, 3, or 4 (Chapter 2 being the noisiest and Chapter 4 being the quietest). Regulations under the Canadian Aeronautics Act require that jet aircraft over 34,000 kg must meet at least Chapter 3 certification standards. Transport Canada may grant exemptions to this, such as for aircraft flying in the north.

 

 

What are the responsibilities of the various organizations with respect to airspace changes and aircraft noise?

 

NAV CANADA

 

NAV CANADA is the country’s air navigation services provider and plays a key role in designing and publishing the network of air routes that aircraft use to get to their destination and the approach and departure procedures at airports. NAV CANADA endeavours to balance the safety and efficiency needs of its customers with community concerns in the design of new routes. NAV CANADA is a signatory to the Industry’s Airspace Change Communication and Consultation Protocol. In this instance, NAV CANADA is the proponent of airspace change.

 

Airport Authorities

 

Airport Authorities are responsible for establishing noise abatement procedures. Noise abatement procedures can govern things such as runway selection and routings within 10 NM of the airport. Additionally, most airports have noise management committees and noise offices that receive and respond to noise complaints from area residents. Airport authorities are also responsible for responding to and tracking of complaints by residents for aircraft operations to their airport.

 

Transport Canada

 

Transport Canada approves new noise abatement procedures and establishes regulations over such things as aircraft source emissions (engine noise).

 

Airlines and other aircraft operators

 

Airlines and other aircraft operators are responsible for conducting their operations in accordance with Transport Canada regulations and airport noise abatement procedures.

 

How is noise considered when planning flight paths?

 

In designing flight paths, NAV CANADA endeavours to balance safety and efficiency requirements with potential impacts on the community. Options that reduce overflight of residential areas or that allow for quieter aircraft operations while meeting strict Transport Canada-approved design standards are important considerations. NAV CANADA also seeks input from airports, some of which have noise management committees, and applies its Airspace Change Communication and Consultation Protocol to ensure that appropriate community input is sought in the proposal stage. As part of the consultation, the Company uses industry standard noise modeling to fully understand the noise impacts of a proposed change.

 

How can I make comments on the upcoming changes?

 

Access the feedback tool here. The comment period is open until June 30, 2016.

 

Can these airspace changes be implemented as a trial first?

 

Before an aircraft can fly any of the new routes, approach procedures must be published in the Canada Air Pilot, as well as coded and stored in aircraft computers. It is impossible to make changes on a trial basis. However, the change is subject to a 180-day review.

 

What influences which runway is in use at an airport at any given time?

For safety reasons, the choice of runway used by an arriving aircraft is determined by the direction and speed of the wind.

 

In addition, airport noise abatement procedures may limit which runways are in use at certain times or for certain types of operations.

 

Does NAV CANADA decide which and how many aircraft land at an airport?

 

NAV CANADA’s mission is to provide for the safe and efficient flow of aircraft operating in Canadian airspace. NAV CANADA does not decide how many or which aircraft fly in and out of an airport. At some airports, Airport Authorities are responsible for the distribution of available slots.

Home > Accueil > À propos de nous > CYOWFAQ

Foire aux questions

Pourquoi est-il nécessaire de modifier les routes?

 

L’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI) a encouragé le déploiement des technologies de navigation fondée sur les performances (PBN), dont la RNP fait partie. En 2007, l’OACI a pris des mesures pour exiger que ses pays membres élaborent des plans officiels pour le déploiement de la PBN dans leur territoire respectif de compétence. Le Plan d’exploitation – Navigation fondée sur lesperformances (2014) de NAV CANADA et le Plan de l’État pour la PBN de Transports Canada décrivent le but de parvenir à un environnement global de PBN au Canada avec la navigation de surface (RNAV) et (ou) la RNP pour toutes les opérations.

 

Les procédures PBN sont également un volet important de la trousse d’outils qu’utilise NAV CANADA pour réduire les répercussions de l’industrie sur l’environnement, par la réduction des GES, conformément à l’engagement du Plan d’action du Canada pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre provenant de l’aviation .

 

Alors que l’aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier utilise actuellement la RNP et d’autres formes de PBN, de meilleures approches – qui pourront être utilisées par plus d’exploitants d’aéronefs – sont en cours d’élaboration.

 

La RNP est la façon la plus fiable d’effectuer des approches en descente continue (CDA), qui sont le type d’approche le plus silencieux et économique en carburant. Les CDA réduisent le bruit associé aux segments de vol en palier, qui exigent une utilisation accrue de la poussée et des volets.

 

Qu’est-ce que la RNP?

 

Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur la qualité de navigation requise (RNP) en consultant « Les fondements de la RNP ».

 

Qu’est-ce qu’une arrivée normalisée en région terminale (STAR)?

 

Une arrivée normalisée en région terminale, ou STAR, est une procédure d’arrivée utilisée pour guider les aéronefs au moment de leur atterrissage à un aéroport. Les procédures STAR peuvent être programmées dans les ordinateurs de navigation des aéronefs pour préparer ces derniers à parcourir la route de la manière la plus efficace possible.

 

Les STAR organisent les instructions fréquemment utilisées par les contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne en une série de procédures établies pour le trafic passant de la phase en route du vol au segment de l’approche finale vers une piste. Les STAR représentent les trajectoires de vol couramment empruntées. Elles constituent une manière de réduire la charge de travail et les communications bidirectionnelles entre les contrôleurs et les pilotes. Ces procédures sont publiées dans le Canada Air Pilot (CAP) à l’intention des pilotes et des contrôleurs.

 

Quels sont les avantages des changements proposés?

 

La RNP est la façon la plus fiable d’effectuer des approches en descente continue (CDA), qui sont le type d’approche le plus silencieux et économique en carburant. Les CDA réduisent la consommation de carburant et le bruit associé aux segments de vol en palier.

 

La RNP permet également aux aéronefs de suivre une route plus courte, ce qui réduit le temps de vol de jusqu’à deux minutes par vol. Les conséquences cumulatives de ces économies peuvent être importantes. Les changements prévus pour l’espace aérien entourant Ottawa devraient réduire les émissions de GES de plus de 750 tonnes métriques et diminuer la consommation de combustible fossile des aéronefs de 300 000 litres par année.

 

La RNP permet de concevoir des routes très précises. Dans la mesure du possible, les routes ont été conçues de façon à éviter les communautés résidentielles.

 

En raison de son caractère prévisible, la RNP réduit également la nécessité de communications vocales fréquentes entre les pilotes et les contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne. Les pilotes ont donc plus de temps pour se concentrer sur d’autres tâches importantes à une étape de vol où la charge de travail est lourde.

 

Qu’arrivera-t-il particulièrement aux routes dans ma région?

 

De nouvelles routes d’arrivée sont proposées pour les pistes 07, 14, 25 et 32. Il n’y a aucun changement prévu aux départs ou dans les opérations relatives aux pistes 04 et 22 en raison de cette proposition. Pour obtenir une description précise des changements prévus concernant l’aéroport dans votre communauté, consultez les renseignements propres aux pistes sur ce site Web.

 

Est-ce que les aéronefs n’utilisent que les approches RNP?

 

L’existence d’une approche RNP publiée (ou d’une arrivée normalisée en région terminale) ne signifie pas qu’il s’agit de la seule route que suivra un aéronef ou que quelque chose ne va pas si des aéronefs sont observés ailleurs. Les contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne peuvent indiquer aux pilotes de suivre une approche différente de la RNP pour diverses raisons relatives à la sécurité et à l’efficacité des opérations.

 

Parfois, l’état de la circulation permet de raccourcir la trajectoire de vol d’un aéronef et de réduire le temps requis pour parvenir au point d’atterrissage. Il est également commun qu’un aéronef soit avisé de ne pas avoir recours aux procédures pour gérer plusieurs aéronefs en approche vers un aéroport, de sorte qu’ils le fassent de manière efficace et à une distance sécuritaire les uns des autres.

 

Selon les estimations, moins de 25 % des aéronefs sont équipés pour utiliser la RNP.

 

Quelles sont les procédures d’atténuation du bruit aux aéroports?

 

En général, les procédures d’atténuation du bruit, qui sont élaborées par les administrations aéroportuaires et approuvées par Transports Canada, sont des règles générales qui régissent, entre autres, le choix de piste, les trajectoires d’approche et de départ ou les restrictions en matière d’heures d’utilisation de l’aéroport. L’exécution des procédures d’atténuation du bruit publiées relève de Transports Canada, et les contrevenants peuvent être passibles d’une amende. Dans les routes modifiées, NAV CANADA respecte toutes les procédures d’atténuation du bruit en vigueur à un aéroport.

 

Comment le bruit est-il réglementé?

 

Au Canada, le bruit des aéronefs est réglementé de deux façons principales :

 

Critères acoustiques d’utilisation ou procédures d’atténuation du bruit aux aéroports.

 

Les administrations aéroportuaires déterminent quelles procédures d’atténuation du bruit devraient être utilisées à un aéroport en particulier afin de réduire les conséquences des opérations aériennes sur les communautés avoisinantes. Ces procédures sont approuvées par Transports Canada et officialisées lorsqu’elles sont publiées dans le Canada Air Pilot (CAP). Une fois publiées, les procédures sont exécutoires, et les contrevenants peuvent faire l’objet d’une amende ou d’une autre mesure d’exécution.

 

Bruit à la source (c.-à-d. l’aéronef).

 

Comme le Canada est un état membre de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI), il adopte des normes de certification de bruit d’aéronef et d’émission prescrites par l’OACI. Ces normes exigent que le bruit soit mesuré au moment de la certification de l’aéronef. Selon les résultats des mesures, l’aéronef est classé comme répondant aux normes du chapitre 2, 3 ou 4 (un aéronef qui répond aux normes du chapitre 2 étant le plus bruyant et du chapitre 4, le moins bruyant). En vertu de la Loi sur l’aéronautique du Canada, les aéronefs à réaction de plus de 34 000 kg doivent respecter au minimum une norme de certification du chapitre 3. Transports Canada peut accorder des exemptions, notamment pour les aéronefs exploités dans le Nord.

 

 

Quelles sont les responsabilités des organismes pertinents quant au bruit des aéronefs et aux changements apportés à l’espace aérien? ▲

 

NAV CANADA

 

NAV CANADA, le fournisseur de services de navigation aérienne du pays, joue un rôle clé dans la conception et la publication des routes aériennes empruntées par les aéronefs pour se rendre à destination et des procédures d’approche et de départ aux aéroports. Lorsqu’elle conçoit de nouvelles routes, NAV CANADA cherche à harmoniser les besoins de ses clients en matière de sécurité et d’efficacité avec les préoccupations des membres de la communauté. NAV CANADA est signataire du Protocole de communications et de consultation sur les modifications à l’espace aérien. Dans ce cas, NAV CANADA est le promoteur du changement d’espace aérien.

 

Administrations aéroportuaires

 

Les administrations aéroportuaires sont tenues d’établir des procédures d’atténuation du bruit, qui peuvent régir certaines activités telles que la sélection des pistes et des routes dans un rayon de 10 NM de l’aéroport. De plus, la plupart des aéroports sont dotés de bureaux et de comités de gestion du bruit responsables de recevoir et de traiter les plaintes en matière de bruit des résidents. Les administrations aéroportuaires sont également tenues de recevoir et de traiter les plaintes des résidents en matière de bruit des opérations aériennes de leur aéroport.

 

Transports Canada

 

Transports Canada approuve les nouvelles procédures d’atténuation du bruit et établit des règlements sur des éléments comme les émissions de source des aéronefs (bruit des moteurs).

 

Transporteurs et autres exploitants d’aéronefs

 

Les transporteurs et autres exploitants d’aéronefs sont tenus d’exécuter leurs activités en conformité avec les règlements de Transports Canada et les procédures d’atténuation du bruit des aéroports.

 

Comment le bruit est-il pris en considération au moment de planifier les trajectoires de vol? ▲

 

NAV CANADA s’efforce de concevoir des trajectoires de vol conformes aux exigences de sécurité et d’efficacité tout en étant sensible aux répercussions sur les communautés. Les options qui réduisent le nombre de survols au-dessus de zones résidentielles ou qui permettent des opérations aériennes plus silencieuses tout en respectant les normes strictes de conception approuvées par Transports Canada sont des facteurs importants à prendre en considération. NAV CANADA cherche également les commentaires provenant des aéroports, dont certains ont des comités de gestion du bruit, et applique le Protocole de communications et de consultation sur les modifications à l’espace aérien afin de s’assurer qu’une rétroaction appropriée des communautés est obtenue à l’étape de la proposition. Dans le cadre de la consultation, la Société utilise la modélisation du bruit conforme à la norme de l’industrie pour mieux comprendre l’incidence d’une modification proposée en ce qui a trait au bruit.

 

Comment puis-je fournir des commentaires au sujet des changements à venir? ▲

 

L’outil de rétroaction est accessible ici.

 

Ces changements à l’espace aérien peuvent-ils être mis en œuvre d’abord à titre d’essai?

 

Avant qu’un aéronef puisse emprunter les nouvelles routes, les procédures d’approche doivent être publiées dans le Canada Air Pilot (CAP). Elles doivent également être codées et enregistrées dans les ordinateurs des aéronefs. Il est impossible d’apporter des changements à titre d’essai. Toutefois, le changement est assujetti à un examen de 180 jours.

 

Quels facteurs influencent la sélection de la piste à utiliser à un aéroport à un moment donné?

 

Pour des raisons de sécurité, le choix de la piste utilisée par un aéronef à l’arrivée est effectué en fonction de la direction et de la vitesse du vent.

 

En outre, les procédures d’atténuation du bruit des aéroports peuvent limiter les pistes utilisées à certains moments ou pour certains types d’opérations.

 

NAV CANADA décide-t-elle quand les aéronefs atterrissent à un aéroport et combien d’aéronefs peuvent le faire?

 

La mission de NAV CANADA est de gérer de manière sécuritaire et efficace le débit de la circulation aérienne dans l’espace aérien du Canada. La Société ne décide pas du nombre d’aéronefs qui utilisent un aéroport. À certains aéroports, les administrations aéroportuaires sont responsables de l’attribution des créneaux disponibles.