Home > Home > About Us > CYHZ

Improving arrival routes to Halifax Stanfield International Airport

Updates are being proposed for arrival routes to Halifax Stanfield International Airport (CYHZ) to support further use of Required Navigation Performance (RNP), a flight procedure that levers satellite-based positioning and modern flight management systems to manage an aircraft’s approach to a runway. RNP allows for flexibility in the design of arrival flight paths that are more predictable and efficient. In addition to implementing new RNP approaches at CYHZ, updates to Standard Terminal Arrival Routes (STARs) are being proposed. No changes to departure routes are being proposed.

1000mt.png

The flight path changes will be used by specifically equipped aircraft. Only a small portion of aircraft – approximately 22 per cent – is currently equipped to employ RNP routes at Halifax Stanfield International Airport.  

NAV CANADA endeavours to design new flight paths that meet safety and efficiency requirements while being sensitive to community impacts.

RNP is the most reliable way to achieve Continuous Descent Approaches, which reduce fuel consumption and noise associated with level segments.

The proposed routes will save up to three minutes on a flight and result in a cumulative reduction of more than 1,000 metric tonnes of greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs) each year (that’s the same as approximately 100,000 car trips from Halifax to Sydney!). Where possible, the routes were designed to avoid residential communities.
 

Information Package

The information package below provides information on the proposal, including technologies, key considerations that went in to designing routes, maps of current operations, including traffic samples of proposed flight paths, on a runway by runway basis, as well as noise model information.

Consultation Information Package (available in PPS or PDF)

PowerPoint Slideshow

PDF (smaller file size)​

Feedback Tool

The comment period has now ended.

Open House Consultation Event

In addition to accessing information on this website, residents are invited to participate in the following public drop-in consultation event

August 24, 2016 – 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

Sackville Heights Community Centre

45 Connolly Rd

Middle Sackville, NS

B4E 1S6

​

Home > Accueil > À propos de nous > CYHZ

Amélioration des routes d’arrivée à l’aéroport international de Halifax

Il est proposé de mettre à jour les routes d’arrivée à l’aéroport international Stanfield de Halifax (CYHZ) pour permettre l’adoption élargie de la qualité de navigation requise (RNP), une procédure de vol qui s’appuie sur le positionnement par satellite et d’autres systèmes modernes de gestion de vol durant l’approche finale d’un aéronef. La RNP offre une souplesse dans la conception de trajectoires d’arrivée plus prévisibles et plus efficaces. En plus de la mise en œuvre de nouvelles approches RNP à l’aéroport international Stanfield de Halifax, la mise à jour de certaines arrivées normalisées en région terminale (STAR) est aussi proposée. Aucun changement n’est prévu pour les routes de départ.

Les aéronefs dotés de l’avionique nécessaire utiliseront les trajectoires de vol modifiées. Seule une petite partie du parc aérien (environ 22 % des aéronefs) est actuellement équipée pour utiliser les routes RNP à l’aéroport international Stanfield de Halifax.   

NAV CANADA s’efforce de concevoir de nouvelles trajectoires de vol conformes aux exigences de sécurité et d’efficacité tout en étant sensible aux répercussions sur les communautés.

La RNP est la façon la plus fiable d’effectuer des approches en descente continue, qui réduisent la consommation de carburant et le bruit associé aux segments de vol en palier.

Les routes proposées permettront de gagner jusqu’à trois minutes de temps de vol, ce qui réduira cumulativement les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) de 1 000 tonnes métriques chaque année (ce qui représente quelque 100 000 déplacements en voiture de Halifax à Sydney). Dans la mesure du possible, les routes ont été conçues de façon à éviter les communautés résidentielles.

Trousse d’information

La trousse d’information ci-dessous comprend notamment les renseignements suivants sur la proposition : les technologies visées, les principaux points pris en considération dans la conception des routes, les cartes de l’exploitation actuelle – dont des échantillons du trafic sur les trajectoires de vol proposées en fonction de chaque piste – ainsi que les renseignements sur le bruit.

Trousse d’information aux fins de consultation (disponible en PowerPoint ou en PDF)

Présentation PowerPoint

PDF (fichier plus petit)​

Outil de rétroaction

La péride de consultation est maintenant terminée.

Consultation publique

En plus d’accéder à l’information dans le présent site Web, les résidents sont invités à participer à la consultation publique suivante :

Le 24 août 2016 – 18 h 30 à 20 h 30
Sackville Heights Community Centre
45, chemin Connolly
Middle Sackville, N.-É.  B4E 1S6