Home > Home > Privacy - FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions - Privacy

What is "personal information"?

"Personal information" is the term used in the new federal Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act. It includes information such as name, home address, telephone number, date of birth, financial information, medical information and information regarding Internet IP addresses.

Does NAV CANADA use personal information?

NAV CANADA collects and uses personal information for various purposes. Pilots provide customer personal information when they file flight plans. It is also used for billing, alerting search-and-rescue authorities and notifying regulatory authorities. Personal information, including medical information, is used in recruiting candidates for positions with the company, to administer employee pay and benefits, and for other related purposes.

Does NAV CANADA disclose personal information to third parties?

NAV CANADA does not provide customers’ personal information to other companies, except for data derived from flight plans, which is provided to airport operators and used to track arrivals and departures for airport operations and collection of movement charges. NAV CANADA also provides radar data on aircraft movements to Canadian national defence authorities, airport operators and air traffic services organizations in airspace adjacent to Canadian controlled airspace. This data is used to manage noise and ensure that the air navigation system operates safely. Aircraft movement information is provided to companies operating test flight aerodromes as part of aircraft manufacturing facilities to assist in their safe use of airspace. NAV CANADA may disclose names and addresses to agencies collecting overdue air navigation service charges. NAV CANADA provides personal information to government agencies when required by law.

Does NAV CANADA use cookies?

NAV CANADA uses "cookies" to collect information and track user patterns on its web site. NAV CANADA does not combine information gathered by a cookie with personally identifiable information such as your name, telephone number or email address without your consent.

Will my personal information be used for direct mailings or e-mail?

NAV CANADA does not compile mailing lists for third parties and does not mail marketing materials to customers. Customer name and address data is used for flight plan and billing purposes and to mail information on rates and charges, when requested by customers, as required by the federal Civil Air Navigation Services Commercialization Act.

Why is this information appearing on your website now?

As a federally regulated service provider in the transportation sector, NAV CANADA is governed by the provisions of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act, which came into effect on January 1, 2001. This statute requires that companies adhere to certain privacy principles and publicize their privacy policies. Prior to its commercialization, the Canadian civil air navigation system was part of Transport Canada and subject to the provisions of the federal Privacy Act. Click here to access NAV CANADA’s Privacy Policy and Privacy Code.

Where else can I get information about privacy?

In addition to NAV CANADA’s Privacy Policy and Privacy Code, you can obtain additional information about our privacy practices by contacting NAV CANADA’s Privacy Coordinator at privacy@navcanada.ca. or by writing to:

Privacy Coordinator
NAV CANADA
77 Metcalfe Street
Ottawa, Ontario  K1P 5L6

Fax: 1 (613) 563-3559

Additional information on the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act is available from the Privacy Commissioner of Canada website at www.privcom.gc.ca.

Home > Accueil > Confidentialité – FAQ

Foire aux questions : Confidentialité

Que signifie « renseignement personnel »?

« Renseignement personnel » est le terme employé dans la nouvelle Loi fédérale sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques. Le terme peut inclure des renseignements comme le nom, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone du domicile, la date de naissance, des informations financières, des renseignements médicaux ainsi que des renseignements au sujet des adresses IP.

NAV CANADA utilise-t-elle les renseignements personnels?

NAV CANADA recueille et utilise des renseignements personnels à diverses fins. Les pilotes fournissent des renseignements personnels sur les clients lorsqu’ils déposent des plans de vol. Cette information est également utilisée dans la facturation, pour alerter les autorités de recherche et de sauvetage et pour aviser les organismes de réglementation. Les renseignements personnels, y compris les renseignements médicaux, servent aussi au recrutement de candidats pour des postes dans la Société, à l’administration de la paye et des avantages sociaux et à d’autres fins connexes.

NAV CANADA communique-t-elle des renseignements personnels à des tiers?

NAV CANADA ne fournit pas de renseignements personnels des clients à d’autres sociétés, à l’exception des données dérivées des plans de vol, qui sont fournies aux exploitants d’aéroport et servent à suivre les arrivées et les départs aux fins d’exploitation de l’aéroport et de collecte des redevances sur les mouvements d’aéronefs. NAV CANADA fournit également des données radar sur les mouvements d’aéronefs aux responsables de la défense nationale canadienne, aux exploitants d’aéroport et aux organisations de services de la circulation aérienne dans l’espace aérien avoisinant l’espace aérien canadien. Ces données servent à assurer la gestion du bruit et la sécurité de l’exploitation du système de la navigation aérienne. Les renseignements sur les mouvements d’aéronefs sont fournis aux sociétés qui exploitent des aérodromes de vols d’essai faisant partie des installations d’avionnerie pour les aider à utiliser l’espace aérien en toute sécurité. NAV CANADA peut communiquer des noms et des adresses aux agences de recouvrement des redevances de services de navigation aérienne impayées. NAV CANADA fournit des renseignements personnels aux organismes gouvernementaux lorsque la Loi l’exige.

Est-ce que NAV CANADA utilise des « témoins »?

NAV CANADA utilise des « témoins » pour recueillir des renseignements et vérifier le parcours des utilisateurs sur son site Web. NAV CANADA ne combine pas les renseignements recueillis par un témoin avec vos renseignements personnels tels que votre nom, votre numéro de téléphone ou votre adresse courriel sans votre consentement.

Mes renseignements personnels seront-ils utilisés à des fins de sollicitation par lettre ou par courriel?

NAV CANADA ne compile pas de listes d’adresses à l’intention de tiers et n’envoie pas de matériel de commercialisation aux clients. Les noms et les adresses des clients sont utilisés dans les plans de vol et la facturation ainsi que pour poster des renseignements au sujet des taux et des redevances, lorsque les clients en font la demande, comme l’exige la Loi fédérale sur la commercialisation des services de navigation aérienne civile.

Pourquoi ces renseignements sont-ils accessibles actuellement à partir du site Web?

À titre de fournisseur de services du secteur des transports réglementés par le gouvernement fédéral, NAV CANADA est régie par les dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2001. Cette loi exige que les sociétés suivent certains principes de protection des renseignements personnels et rendent publiques leurs politiques à cet égard. Avant sa commercialisation, le système canadien de la navigation aérienne civile faisait partie de Transports Canada et était assujetti aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels fédérale.

Où puis-je aussi obtenir de l’information sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

En plus de la Politique de protection des renseignements personnels et du code de confidentialité de NAV CANADA, vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur la protection des renseignements personnels en communiquant avec le coordonnateur de la protection des renseignements personnels de NAV CANADA à confidentialite@navcanada.ca ou en écrivant au :

Coordonnateur de la protection des renseignements personnels
NAV CANADA
77, rue Metcalfe
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5L6

Télécopieur : 1-613-563-3559

Le site Web du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée www.privcom.gc.ca comporte des renseignements supplémentaires sur la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques.